Sep. 22nd, 2003

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
First of all, belated happy birthday to [livejournal.com profile] taraljc. *throws late confetti*

It's a good thing I went to our family's summer cottage with my mom yesterday (Sunday) because the phone, cable, and Internet were all out at my place (the perils of having them all provided by the same company!) and I would have died from withdrawal. ;) Thank goodness for the cellphone, which I used to report the outage, but they already knew about it. Apparently it was the whole neighborhood, and they sent someone over late last night to fix it. Yay.

Will [livejournal.com profile] anotherjen ever stop giving me baby stuff? Hee hee! Tune in tomorrow...! :)

I'm feeling a little punchy, or giddy perhaps, because my mom came and took Isaac off to her place again. She's done this before (on Mondays, when she doesn't work), but this is the first time she has come so early -- 11 A.M. -- and will be having him for so long. I feel so free! I may actually get some work done! Plus shower and eat in peace!

(Which reminds me, I never posted about my "mommy milestones" last week. On Thursday, I gave Isaac a bath by myself, for the first time without my mom's help. And on Friday, I took a shower while he was sleeping in his crib! Another first! Yay me.)

Two new (to me) Terry Pratchett novels arrived on Saturday and I read them at the cottage yesterday: The Wee Free Men and The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents. PTerry rules. (And I seem to get more reading done at the cottage than anywhere/anywhen else. Why is that?)

Mom has tickets to tonight's Red Sox game but (shocking blasphemy alert) I'm not going to go. I think it would be more than Isaac could handle; he's been to two games already, but that was before he really started being aware of his surroundings, and now he gets overstimulated so easily, I don't want to risk it. :( Oh well, I'll watch the game on TV and add it to the list of "Things I Couldn't Do Because Of You" to guilt-trip him with some day. ;)

I have more to say, but right now I'm gonna go see about that shower. Yay for long leisurely not-worrying-about-the-baby shower!!! :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I've been following the June '03 messageboard on parentsplace.com (a board for people who had babies in June '03) and recently there was a thread about what songs you sing to your baby. Now, mostly I sing folky/anti-war/pro-union stuff to Isaac, since it's what I grew up on; stuff like "If I Had A Hammer" and "The Strangest Dream" and "Solidarity Forever." Also, there's Isaac's Theme, to the tune of "I'm Too Sexy" by Right Said Fred:

I'm too cute for my hat
too cute for my hat
whatchoo think about that?
I'm too cute for my shirt
too cute for my shirt
so cute it hurts
I'm too cute for Milan
too cute for Milan
New York and Japan
I'm a baby, you know what I mean
and I shake my little tush in the stroller


etc.... Anyway, so one mom mentioned that she sings "You Are My Sunshine," and I went "ooh! I forgot about that song!" so now I have been singing it to Isaac. And then today it got stuck in my head and I started thinking, waitaminnit, the first two lines of "You Are My Sunshine" are the first two lines of "This Land Is Your Land"!

But then I realized that I was just singing "You Are My Sunshine" wrong. Heh. :) It's a very similar tune, but not exactly the same. The first line ("You are my sunshine/this land is your land") is the same, but the second line ("my only sunshine/this land is my land") is slightly different. And of course the rest is completely different.

OK, I'm a music geek, so sue me. :) Tomorrow: why this year's Mozart Requiem is not like last year's Mozart Requiem....

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:46 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios