Yesterday was quite eventful.
I worked from home and it was a bit crazy (scrambling to finish a project).
I also casually turned on the National Spelling Bee on tv, and got riveted! Who knew a spelling bee could be so exciting? I mean, I was always into grammar and spelling and such, but even at 13 (the age of most of these kids), I wasn't THAT into it. But man, were those kids good! And the competition itself was really interesting to watch. The tension! The drama! The moments of humor! The agony of defeat! I really wanted the little Jamaican girl to win, partly because she reminded me of Kendra from "Buffy," but also because she was so poised and serious and had a sort of showwomanship to her. (Plus as the words got harder she pulled out a whole bag of tricks to stall, which I thought was funny.)
Later in the afternoon/evening, my buddy Darth Julie came up on the train, and along with
jenwrites and another couple friends who don't have LJ (silly people!), we went to Cambridge to meet up with
plaidder. We had Chinese food and ice cream and it was super-fun! :) Then Darth Julie and
plaidder and I hung out for a while longer, and then Julie and I spent the night at my mom's so that Julie could catch her train back home in the morning.
This morning there were some adventures of the not-so-fun kind, but in a minor way. On the bright side, it's Friday *and* payday, and you can't beat THAT with a stick. :)
On Sunday, my friend Cyndi is coming down from Vermont to spend the day cleaning my apartment and helping me rearrange my furniture to make room for, like, a crib and stuff. I am SO thurking relieved about this. The place is a pigsty, and although I'm a pretty messy person, it is way past my tolerance level. I've just been too tired and scattered to actually clean it up myself, plus when it reaches a really bad state I give up before I even get started because tackling the task seems so huge and overwhelming. But Cyndi has done housekeeping for a living in the past, so I know she'll be able to just dive right in and get it done. I can't WAIT. I'm pathetic. *g*
( The Friday Five )