May. 31st, 2003

mamajoan: me in hammock (bini yawn)
Memes:

Which Buffy Alter Ego Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

That's funny, because when I was starting to take the test I was thinking, "There should be a "Spike's Slut Buffy" option, because that's the Buffy I would be." And the Buffybot is a pretty close approximation of that. :)

Also:

[take the test] - [by krystaljungle.com]

You may be wondering why I'm awake at this ridiculously early hour on a Saturday. Yeah, well, that would be because my cat is missing. He got outside last night (long story) and I didn't realize it until I went to pee around 7am and finally noticed that he hadn't shown his face in quite some time. So I've been napping on the sofa (from where I can hear if he scratches on the door, and can see the back porch and yard) but then I got hungry so I'm having some cereal and that probably means I won't be able to get back to sleep again. Groan.

Think good thoughts for Bini coming home. :( I feel all guilty for having let him out by accident and then taken so long to realize it. I hope he's just out there having adventures and fun and stuff, not getting terrorized by other animals or whatnot. He does have a collar with tags, and he has a microchip implanted in him that goes to a national database, but all that depends on someone being able (and willing) to get hold of him and take him in somewhere and make some phone calls. Sigh.

Anyway, in the meantime I'll just be here on my sofa fretting. And taking online quizzes, apparently.
mamajoan: me in hammock (bini yawn)
A mere sixteen hours after I first discovered him missing, and approximately 24 hours after he probably actually entered the Big Blue Room, Bini resurfaced.

I basically spent the whole day standing vigil for him. I went to the back door every hour or so and called to him (except for a lengthy stretch of the afternoon during which the kid who lives upstairs was playing noisy games in the driveway with his friends and I figured the shouting would keep Bini away). I briefly put some food out, but that backfired (as I had expected) because other random cats who live in the area felt free to partake. When it got dark I turned on the back porch light so I could easily see out the window if Bini appeared on the porch, and I continued to call for him every hour or so.

A few minutes ago I saw one of the strays sitting on the porch glaring at something on the ground below. I went to the door and sure nuff, it was Bini, engaged in a stare-off with the stray. I opened the door and Bini came running inside.

He promptly scarfed down some food, sniffed around the apartment a bit to make sure it hadn't changed any, came over for some petting, used his litterbox, and then settled down to lick himself. He's damp from the rain, but otherwise seems fine.

*WHEW*

I called my mom even though it was 11:30pm, because she was fretting too. She said I seemed awfully calm this morning when I told her about it. I said that was because I basically figured, either he would come back or he wouldn't, and what can you do? I'm actually kind of relieved to know that he can be gone for that long and still find his way back.

Anyway, thanks to all who sent vibes. All's well that ends well, for the moment. And now I'll be able to sleep tonight. Yay.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:01 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios