May. 19th, 2003

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Or something. I dunno. I really suck at subject lines lately.

The quickie weekend recap because no one really cares. ;)

Saturday, went to choir rehearsal, then went yard-sale-ing with [livejournal.com profile] anotherjen. Got a TON of baby stuff for super-cheap! Yay for yard sales! Later, baked brownies and took them to a party. My apartment continued to smell like brownie for a full 24 hours afterward, which was maddening. ;)

Sunday, finally managed to hook up with my friend Ross from Australia, who was visiting, and with whom I was supposed to have gotten together on Saturday but we'd never managed to connect. Sunday I was tired so we just had lunch and then walked along the Charles River a bit and then sat on a bench and chatted and watched the people go by. (On Sundays they close down Memorial Drive, the road that goes along the river, to car traffic, so that bikers and walkers and roller-bladers and so forth can move freely on it. It was a gorgeous day so there were a lot of people out.) Later, went to my mom's place and laundered all the baby clothing I got on Saturday, and we watched the last two "West Wing"s of the season. (In the season finale episode I swear one of the members of Bartlett's Cabinet was the guy who played the Mayor on "Buffy." Anyone know whether I'm right?? [livejournal.com profile] musesfool?? Bueller??)

On Sunday night I also watched "Touched," the Buffy episode from two weeks ago. Now I only have one more ep to watch (tonight, one hopes) so that I can watch the finale along with everyone else. Where "along with" means "a few hours after" because I do have chorus rehearsal tomorrow night, but at least I'll be able to watch the ep on the same actual day.

The only problem with having acquired so much baby stuff (and it's not all clothing, either; there's a swing and a changing-table thingie and I forget what-all else) is that there's really nowhere to PUT it. Oy! I could put it in the basement, but that feels wrong for some reason. However, I think there's some stuff in my closet that could go into the basement, and then the baby stuff can go in the closet. I meant to look at that last night but I was too tired. Maybe tonight.

A couple weeks ago I was reading one of my pregnancy books and its "how you might be feeling emotionally this month" section said that at this point I might be getting impatient with/sick of being pregnant. I was all, "nah!!! that'll never happen!" but now, at least, I'm definitely starting to feel like, okay, this being pregnant thing is fun and all, but just gimme my baby already!! Nine more weeks to go?! Augh! I can't wait that long!

Heh, but then again, it'll probably fly by as quickly as the rest of the pregnancy has thus far. Really, it seems like just a couple days ago that I saw the second little pink line on the pee stick. Isn't it funny how time can seem to drag and fly at the same time? And that's about as deep as I think this journal is going to get today. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (spike)
I just finished watching last week's Buffy episode, so I am now fully caught up and prepared for the finale tomorrow.

I see that people on my friends-list are already starting to wax eloquent about how much the show has meant to them and how much they'll miss it. I'd like to do the same but, well, I'm just not feeling that eloquent about such things of late. Suffice it to say that of all my TV obsessions, BTVS was the most recent. ;) Okay, okay, and possibly the strongest too; certainly the deepest, and the most enduring.

But much as I'd like to feel all sad and nostalgic about its ending, I just don't. Probably it's because of other, much more important things going on in my life. I'll miss BTVS, that's for sure, but the time is right for it to end.

I was going to post thoughts about "Empty Places" after I watched it, but then I realized it had been three weeks so no one really cares what I think. ;) Then I was going to post thoughts about "Touched," because I knew that at least [livejournal.com profile] munoz and [livejournal.com profile] ww1614 would be interested in my Spike-related thoughts, but I didn't get around to it. And then I watched ... uh ... *checks ep title* "End of Days" and forgot what thoughts I might have had about "Touched." I still have thoughts, but it's just that they're not very coherent. ;)

[livejournal.com profile] munoz asked me what I thought of his Spike theory in light of the events of "Touched." To be honest, I'm not sure I remember which Spike theory was his, I've heard so many of 'em. ;) So I shan't answer that. But here are some thoughts I have about Spike. )

I'd also like to post thoughts on Faith, but I'm tired and hungry so I shan't. Maybe tomorrow, if I get a chance. Or maybe I'll just wait till after the end.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios