May. 6th, 2003

well met

May. 6th, 2003 12:21 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Last night's "Meet the Midwives" event was great. It was nice to see the faces of the new midwives (my group recently merged with another group) and hear all of them talk about their philosophies and practices and so forth. (I think this was also extra-valuable for my mom and Jessie since it was their first time meeting *any* of the midwives. I at least had already met five of the nine women in the newly expanded group.)

But the best part, for me, was the tour of the birthing center. I dunno, somehow that just really reassured me. I like to be able to picture what the place looks like where I'm doing something major, and seeing the layout helps me imagine what the process is going to be like too.

Plus, from what I've heard and read about hospital maternity ward, I get the impression that this one is *really* nice in comparison to many. details )

I also finally got to meet this woman my mom had been telling me about, a nurse in the maternity ward named Kathy. My mom met her through work and they instantly bonded (I can imagine the conversation quite easily: "You work at Mt. Auburn? My daughter's giving birth there!" "No way! I work in the maternity ward! Tell her to call me!") so when my mom mentioned that I was having trouble finding a birthing class, Kathy took on the mission of finding me one. So when we were there yesterday she said that she knew someone who's teaching an all-day birthing class on Sunday, June 15th. Since that's the day after my baby shower (also Father's Day which means nothing to me), it sounded perfect. So I'm supposed to call her today and find out how much it costs and whether I can still sign up for it.

Afterward, mom and I went for dinner and talked out some stuff. So many decisions!! ) So, it's all complicated and stuff. Still, it was good to talk this stuff out with mom, and at least we're on the same wavelength. At some point I'll have to actually start making these decisions ... eek!

Wow, this post got really long. Sorry. Or not. :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (bini yawn)
So [livejournal.com profile] taraljc met PTerry the other day, and she squees about it, as well she should. I've met PTerry several times in person and he is just a delight to listen to or chat with. I adore him. (Why didn't I pre-order The Wee Free Men when Amazon UK offered me a discount? Is it too late to get the discount? Hmm.)

Those of y'all who are Pratchett fans should take note of the following:

1. PTerry will be the Guest of Honor at the 2004 Worldcon, here in my very own Boston! I, of course, already have my membership registration. Now through Sept. 30th you can register for only(!) $160; after that the fee will increase. (They also have an installment plan that lets you lock in your rate and pay in increments.) Bear in mind that memberships to Worldcon are transferable, so if it turns out you can't attend, you can always give/sell your membership to someone else. Anyway, see all the details at the con website: http://www.noreascon.org/

2. Anyone who enjoyed reading Good Omens and/or American Gods (and really, who didn't?) should check out Humans by Donald Westlake. It has a fairly similar plot and a fairly similar sense of black humor. I just finished rereading it and was reminded anew of what a subtle comic genius Westlake is, albeit in a very different way from PTerry. Still, you should check it out. It's good stuff.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This year I've been feeling a hankering to do something special for Mother's Day. My mom is not a big holiday person, not the type of mom who would get angry if you failed to do something special for her on Mother's Day (although, forget her birthday and you're in DEEP trouble). We're usually low-key on the day; sometimes I get her flowers. But this year I wanted more.

I saw on the Red Sox schedule that, although the team is out of town this weekend, there will be a "special Mother's Day event" at Fenway. I couldn't find any info online, so I finally called up. The lady said that the details of the event aren't finalized yet but it will probably be announced within the next 24 hours, and it will cost around $10 per person. So, mom and I are waiting to hear the details. If it's going to involve us being allowed to go on the field and stuff, we'll almost certainly go! I'm happy to hear they're even doing anything, because last year they had a huge Father's Day event and we were like, dude, moms love the Red Sox too, dammit. :P

So, I hope that'll work out, cuz I think it would be fun. :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
A few quick things before I dash off, because I'm determined to get to bed early(ier) tonight:

1. Inspired by my new blender, I bought way too many smoothie ingredient things tonight. I am clueless about smoothies but with the help of several books and the nice folks on [livejournal.com profile] vegrecipes, I gave it a try. It went great! Frozen strawberries + chocolate soymilk + vanilla frozen yogurt + wheat germ = yum!!! I am insanely happy about this. I shall become a smoothie-makin' fool.

2. Apparently tonight's Smallville and Buffy episodes have provoked some very strong reactions -- so strong that many on my friend-list are getting sloppy about spoilers. *pout* Don't make me stop reading LJ! :(

3. Related to the above, my current to-be-watched list on TiVo is as follows:
2 Daily Shows
1 Angel
2 Smallvilles
2 Buffys
1 CSI (with Ben Browder)
1 South Park
5 Farscapes
and the "Biography" on Patrick Stewart which I might have to delete because I'm running out of room. Augh! I need, like, several days with nothing to do but catch up on TV. You should see the calendar in my Visor for May -- almost every single day has at least one little dot in it. (A dot represents something I have to do that day.) I don't even know how that happened, but it did, and I begin to despair of ever getting sleep, let alone getting caught up on TV. Sigh.

4. The landlord has not called me back but now the toilet is not making the noise *every* time it's flushed. I'm not sure whether to be relieved or even more worried.

5. Re the hospital where I'm going to have my baby, I forgot to mention that a former king of Thailand was born there. In 1929. There's a portrait of him on the wall next to the elevators. This amuses me greatly.

6. Purcell's Dido and Aeneas is an evil piece of music. Evil, I say. Evil!!!

And now to bed.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:35 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios