Oct. 23rd, 2002

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I was right. He started with "And the glory," then went on to "Since by man," which I would have guessed if I'd given it a little more thought.

After writing my previous entry I realized that my mom would still be home, so I called her and told her my guess. She laughed. Then when she came into rehearsal (even later than me) and we were still on "And the glory," we laughed together. But quietly, 'cause, rehearsal.

Then after the break we were going to sneak out, but he did "But thanks," which was new last year so mom wanted to say because she doesn't know it too well, and I wanted to stay because it's new but not to me; was one of my favorites when I first discovered Messiah as a precocious teen. So I was all, "okay, I'll leave after 'But thanks'." But of course I forgot that he always likes to end the first rehearsal with "Hallelujah." Well, how could I leave when he was doing "Hallelujah"???

So I stayed and sang it, which of course was a stupid thing to do with my throat already bothering me. Bailed before anyone could rope me into going out for dinner. Drove mom home and then came home myself -- stupidly leaving my chorus bag at mom's place, with my Visor and the rest of the pumpkin bread in it! Arrgggh.

I was going to type more, wax rhapsodic about how much I love singing and music and Messiah in particular, but I'm tired and my throat is itchy and I require sleep. I'm drinking a cup of Throat Coat tea and going to bed. Grump.

selfless

Oct. 23rd, 2002 11:07 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (spike)
My analysis of last night's Buffy episode "Selfless"...

much food for thought )

I didn't get to watch SV last night on account of getting home from chorus a bit late and wanting to watch the baseball game after I finished Buffy. Hopefully I'll be able to watch SV tonight, especially as it looks like West Wing is a rerun.

the s-word

Oct. 23rd, 2002 02:41 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I am not prepared for this. I am not ready to see the trees and cars and streets covered in white when I wake up in the morning. I'm not ready!!

By the time I woke up, it had turned to sort of slush, although the slight accumulation was still visible. I wasn't sure at first whether it was raining or sleeting/snowing, until I opened the door and Bini managed to slip past me and the flakes caught on his fur. Luckily, the cold and wet startled him enough that he didn't immediately dash off into the bushes like usual, so I was able to grab him and haul him back inside, otherwise I would have been late for everything *sigh*. He still hasn't adjusted to the idea of being an indoor kitty.

The wet rainy/slushy stuff continued until I got onto the highway, then it turned drier and more snow-like. And yet, by the time my coworkers and I walked over to the store for lunch, it was sunny and the roads were dry and there were just a few patches of white left on the ground, in shaded spots. That's New England weather for ya.

Sure, the weather forecasters said the s-word during yesterday's forecast, but I didn't believe them or anything. I figured they were kidding, you know? I mean, it's not even Halloween yet! Snow?! WTF?

I'm not ready!

p.s.

Oct. 23rd, 2002 06:13 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (lego me)
Another thing I forgot to say about last night's Buffy episode: not really spoilery but just in case )

I am such a geek. I need help.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This is the first time in a while that I've done five posts in one day (the joys of the LJ calendar) but it doesn't count because the first one was actually mostly written before midnight. No, really. I swear.

Anyway, the other news is that my chiropractor says I can go from one visit per week to one every other week. Yay! My back really feels a lot lot lot better since going to her. It's amazing, especially when I lie down on the floor at the gym to do sit-ups and it doesn't hurt at all. She is a miracle worker!

In other other news, mom and I are still trying to work out a way to get to the big anti-war demonstration in Washington D.C. this weekend. There are buses going from Boston, but they're already full; we're on the wait-list and they're trying to get another bus. We're also thinking about driving down, if we can maybe find one or two other people to share the driving. It's not *that* long a drive, maybe nine or ten hours, but we're not spring chickens either. ;)

(There's a corresponding demonstration in San Francisco for those of y'all who can't get to D.C.!)

Heh, time will tell how lovely my back feels after twenty hours in a car.

And don't think we're not worried about the whole sniper thing. Cuz we are.

Oy.

But still. It's important to show one's feelings. The more people at the rally, the better, and I really want to go.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios