Oct. 22nd, 2002

yay!

Oct. 22nd, 2002 11:55 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I am now officially a card-carrying member of the ACLU. LOL! I'm going to carry this card everywhere just so I can say that. :)

In other news, a funny cartoon about blogging and grammar. Hee hee. I love "Doonesbury."

Gotta run! We're going out to lunch to celebrate releasing our beta. Woohoo!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
From [livejournal.com profile] mommybird...

1. Name the three movies that have frightened you the most. Feel free to explain why.

I try not to see scary movies. I'll say "Pitch Black" and ... um ... well, "Star Wars A New Hope" scared me the first time I saw it, but I was three, so that doesn't really count. ;)

2. Do you have an irrational fear? I mean something like a fear of spiders or clowns rather than a fear of inheriting an illness from a parent or of nuclear annihilation.

Nothing consistent. I sometimes get scared of the dark, sometimes of bugs, but it depends on my state of mind.

3. What is the scariest book you have ever read?

Probably Salem's Lot, which I had to read for a class in college.

The bit at the beginning of Wuthering Heights where the guy gets attacked by a ghost freaked me out a bit, but the book overall isn't that scary.

4. Have you ever seen a film or read a book that frightened you so much you couldn't finish it?

See above re: Star Wars. Also Star Trek II when they put the things in Chekov's ears, but again, I was young. I haven't walked out on a movie/given up on a book as an adult.

5. Was there something that frightened you as a child that seems silly now? (For example, a weird shape outside your window, or a character in a movie.)

Nothing comes to mind.

6. Have you ever had any encounters with anything paranormal? Seen a ghost, used a Ouija board, had a precognitive dream?

I allege that I knew when my grandfather died because I had a crying fit that came out of nowhere at approximately the time he was dying 3000 miles away.

I've also done some spookily accurate Tarot readings, although I don't know whether that counts.

7. If you made your own horror movie or wrote a horror story/novel, what would it be about?

I started one once. It was set in the Victorian era, and it was about a guy who was accused of murdering a woman. In reality it was vampires who had killed her and he had tried to save her, but he couldn't tell anyone this because his alibi was that he had been with his gay lover, and he didn't want anyone to know he was gay. So he had to go around trying to prove his innocence in other ways, and meanwhile the vampires were after him.... I could never figure out how it would end, though, so I never finished writing it. Story of my life.

8. If you could be (or should I say had to be) any creature of the night (e.g., a vampire, a werewolf), what would you be?

Eurgh. I don't like any of the choices. How about a bat, can I be a bat? Or a plain old ordinary ghost.

9. If you could communicate in a direct way with one deceased person personally known to you, who would it be?

Can I say a cat? Ehh, I don't know what I'd really say to Toes anyway. The only deceased people personally known to me are my grandfather and my uncle Willie. I guess I'll say grandpa, because I'm sure he has stories to tell.

10. If you could communicate in a direct way with one deceased person *not* personally known to you, who would it be?

Tough one. I think I'll say Douglas Adams, because I always had such high hopes of meeting him while he was alive. :( Or Isaac Asimov, maybe.

well, duh!

Oct. 22nd, 2002 05:48 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Oh, like anyone's surprised.

I'm%20going%20to%20Hell%20because%20I%20write%20slash%20fanfiction!
Why Will You Go To Hell?

brought to you by Quizilla

late

Oct. 22nd, 2002 06:10 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (smiling little me)
I am so going to be late to rehearsal. It starts at 6:30 and it takes forever to get there from here and it's 6:10 now and I'm not even close to leaving.

But my throat is all itchy, has been since yesterday, so I can be excused for taking some extra time to have a cup-o-soup. Right? Never mind that I could have had the soup, like, any time this afternoon, but I chose to wait till it was past time to leave.

Anyway, it's the first rehearsal and things never get started right on time. That's how I console myself. It's not like I don't know Messiah by heart forward and backward anyway.

I wonder which bit he'll start with. My money's on either "And the glory" or "And he shall purify." If I had thought of it earlier, I would have called my mom to start a pool. ;) I'm terrible.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:53 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios