Oct. 21st, 2002

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I ended up accomplishing two more things from my to-do list: baking the pumpkin bread and finishing the "Grave" transcript (YAY!).

I couldn't bake the cookies, of course, because I only had two eggs and used them for the pumpkin bread. Meanwhile the bread called for shortening rather than butter, so I still have two sticks of butter. I don't want to buy a whole nother 6- or 8-pack of eggs just to bake the cookies. Hmm.

I put in almost double the amount of cinnamon and cloves that the recipe called for, and yet, the pumpkin bread still isn't spicy enough for my taste. Drat. I almost put in nutmeg too, but decided against it, dunno why. I love nutmeg. Apparently my loaf pan is a bit too small, because the bread puffed WAY up over the top, and the very top of the bread didn't cook all the way through, but the edges were getting very dark so I had to take it out. It's still pretty good; after it cools completely I'll see whether the top part is okay or should be thrown out.

I also cleaned up my recycling in preparation for taking it out with tonight's trash. Man, was it a mess. Now you can actually see the floor next to the closet.

I'm psyched about having finished "Grave," if only for the psychological closure of Season 6. Of course, there are now three S7 episodes to do, with another one airing in two days, *plus* chorus rehearsals are gonna start up. Sigh. So I'm still pretty far behind, and there aren't shooting scripts up for me to work from. Alas.

And yet, every time I think "I could stop transcribing and no one would know," I can't bring myself to actually do it. You'd think that I, like, enjoyed it or something.

I need to not make life-altering decisions during low-blood-sugar moments. Another item for [livejournal.com profile] note_to_self I guess.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I really am a menace with that digital camera.

a picture of me with my new haircut )

Man, am I glad I wised up and went to a professional to have my butcher-job fixed. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
As usual, my perspective on things is much more rational after a night's sleep and some food. (Mmm... pumpkin bread!) So.

I will, and hereby do, apologize for being bitchy on IRC last night, if bitchy I was; in particular to [livejournal.com profile] cara_chapel and [livejournal.com profile] basingstoke (because they're the ones whose lj names I know offhand *g*). I mean, I stand by my basic anti-exclusion philosophy and it does in fact make me uncomfortable to diss people in a (semi-)public channel -- for one thing, you never know whether someone on the channel is actually friends with/an admirer of the person you're dissing; and for another, I just don't like the culture it creates, where each time I sign off IRC I'm wondering, "gee, what are they saying about me now that I'm gone?" I've been there, I've played some ugly IRC scenes (as [livejournal.com profile] xochiquetzl and [livejournal.com profile] big_al81 surely recall), and it just feels petty and unpleasant in retrospect.

Still, as someone on the fringes of the fandom, I'm not up-to-date on who's in what clique, who's cool and who's annoying, etc. (and have no interest in getting up-to-date on that either, not if it means I have to start reading more discussion lists full of bickering, posturing, and side-taking ... BTDT, thanks), so who am I to go around telling y'all what to do in your channel? Primarily, I'm reacting to my own disappointment that the fun #smallville chats we used to have, back last spring, no longer seem to happen. I miss signing on and finding a bunch of people around who want to talk about how hot Lex is or how obviously Clark wants him or even whether ChLex makes any sense (*waves at [livejournal.com profile] blueraccoon*). I don't get why those chats don't seem to happen any more since we're all, from what I can tell, just as interested in the show as we were six months ago; but after all the time I've been on IRC you'd think I would know that these things just happen. Channels wax and wane, new regulars come, old regulars disappear, and suddenly the chat is all about stuff that doesn't interest me and the people I want to chat with never sign on any more. Oh well. Guess it's time to start reading more books.

I hope this doesn't sound passive-aggressive because that's not how it's intended. I just ... am remembering why I don't get deeply involved in fandom any more. It's okay though. I'm almost certainly happier on the sidelines anyway.

Man, this post was self-indulgent. I'm so fucking pretentious. But hey, my journal, my rules....
mamajoan: me in hammock (wtf)
I heart [livejournal.com profile] liviapenn for making me the lovely new icon. :) I shall use it frequently, for "wtf?" is a FAQ in my lexicon.

Fannish blathering ho...

Firefly: Jaynestown )

Angel: The House Always Wins )

Buffy stuff: souls, Spike, etc. )

More Buffy stuff: Help spoilers )

Hmm, didn't mean to wax nearly that wordy. Must be Monday.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios