mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
As usual, my perspective on things is much more rational after a night's sleep and some food. (Mmm... pumpkin bread!) So.

I will, and hereby do, apologize for being bitchy on IRC last night, if bitchy I was; in particular to [livejournal.com profile] cara_chapel and [livejournal.com profile] basingstoke (because they're the ones whose lj names I know offhand *g*). I mean, I stand by my basic anti-exclusion philosophy and it does in fact make me uncomfortable to diss people in a (semi-)public channel -- for one thing, you never know whether someone on the channel is actually friends with/an admirer of the person you're dissing; and for another, I just don't like the culture it creates, where each time I sign off IRC I'm wondering, "gee, what are they saying about me now that I'm gone?" I've been there, I've played some ugly IRC scenes (as [livejournal.com profile] xochiquetzl and [livejournal.com profile] big_al81 surely recall), and it just feels petty and unpleasant in retrospect.

Still, as someone on the fringes of the fandom, I'm not up-to-date on who's in what clique, who's cool and who's annoying, etc. (and have no interest in getting up-to-date on that either, not if it means I have to start reading more discussion lists full of bickering, posturing, and side-taking ... BTDT, thanks), so who am I to go around telling y'all what to do in your channel? Primarily, I'm reacting to my own disappointment that the fun #smallville chats we used to have, back last spring, no longer seem to happen. I miss signing on and finding a bunch of people around who want to talk about how hot Lex is or how obviously Clark wants him or even whether ChLex makes any sense (*waves at [livejournal.com profile] blueraccoon*). I don't get why those chats don't seem to happen any more since we're all, from what I can tell, just as interested in the show as we were six months ago; but after all the time I've been on IRC you'd think I would know that these things just happen. Channels wax and wane, new regulars come, old regulars disappear, and suddenly the chat is all about stuff that doesn't interest me and the people I want to chat with never sign on any more. Oh well. Guess it's time to start reading more books.

I hope this doesn't sound passive-aggressive because that's not how it's intended. I just ... am remembering why I don't get deeply involved in fandom any more. It's okay though. I'm almost certainly happier on the sidelines anyway.

Man, this post was self-indulgent. I'm so fucking pretentious. But hey, my journal, my rules....

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:14 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios