Feb. 12th, 2002

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
In case you missed 'em here are the other fic snippets I've already posted in livejournal:
Slashville
one about Faith
Spuffy
That last one also has the blurb about exactly what I mean by fanfic exorcism. :-)

And with that said, let's move on to the next bit, shall we? This one is Spuffy again, a "fill in the gaps" bit that takes place during the opening credits of "Dead Things." Whee. click for smut )
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This is one of my favorite examples of stupid editing, ever:

"This is the darnedest season I ever saw. I mean, the Durham Bulls can't lose, and I can't get laid." --Susan Sarandon in "Bull Durham."

Only, when you see it on tv, she says, "and I can't get love."

Hello?! Since when is "get laid" obscene? I mean, come ON. Especially in an era when they can say "asshole" on NYPD Blue, "shit" on South Park, and "I'm only alive when you're inside me" on Angel!

My other favorite is when Austin Powers' "Do I make you horny, baby?" turns into "Do I make you randy?" Huh?? If horny is unacceptable, why is randy better?? LOL!

(btw, I love "Bull Durham," and it's on Bravo right now, hence this post. It's absolutely the only movie in which I like Kevin Costner. But I really like him in it.)

laziness

Feb. 12th, 2002 02:37 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
You know what else I don't get, is people who take the elevator from the second to the third floor when there are perfectly good stairs right next to the elevator. I mean, I get it if they have medical issues, bad knees or what have you, but when they're perfectly able-bodied, it just seems wrong. And it's not like the stairs in our building are scary or ugly. They're not even in a separate stairwell, they're "open-air" so to speak, and carpeted and everything. Yeesh.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I used to always write in past tense. Then for one story I decided to try present tense, and it was difficult -- I kept slipping back into past tense, and having to go back over the last few paragraphs I had just typed and fix them. At one point I thought, "well, if it's my instinct to put it in past, maybe I should just go with that," so I changed it all back, but then I didn't like it, so I changed it back again.

And that story turned out pretty well, I thought. But what I've noticed since then is that I suddenly write everything in present tense. And recently I had the opposite experience -- I consciously tried to write a piece in past tense, because I had noticed this new trend; but it kept slipping back into present tense, so finally I gave in.

I'm wondering if this is a passing fad (present tense is big these days in the fanfic fandoms I follow, so it's not just me) or whether maybe it says something deeper about writing, specifically mine, that I should think about.

Obviously the whole thing about present tense is that it feels more immediate. It's more like you're reading about something that's happening right now, than something that has already happened. To extend the metaphor, then, the emotions of present tense are more raw, fresher because they haven't had time yet to cool, to be looked at in a more rational light, to mellow with time.

Or am I overanalyzing? ;-) Always a possibility with me.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios