mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Things that amuse me:

* this quote:
For those who have never been to Boston, the Big Dig is a vast road construction project that has been disrupting traffic since about, oh, 1918, when the Red Sox last won the World Series, and probably will not be finished until the Red Sox win another World Series.
From from this article about the guys who work the scoreboard on the Green Monster at Fenway Park. Man, that is my dream job.

* the knowledge that so many "Smallville" characters have livejournals. See [livejournal.com profile] edie22's post about them here.

Things that annoy me:

* Suppose you're looking at the website of an airport in a fairly small city, and it's the only airport that serves that city. Now suppose the airport's website had a page of links to airline websites. Wouldn't you assume that the airlines linked to would be the ones that fly to that airport? You would, wouldn't you? And yet, bizarrely, you'd be wrong.

* I've read news articles recently where children were involved, and the names of the children were withheld for privacy reasons -- yet the children's parents were named. (I can't find an example right now, but one was about two kids who were suspected of having murdered their mother.) Doesn't that seem a little stupid? Given the full name, age, and city of a parent, and the age(s) of her kid(s), how hard would it be to find out the kids' names? Not hard at all. Especially if you knew the family, and isn't the whole point of privacy to protect the kids from people who know them? I realize it's meant with good intentions, but it just seems really dumb to me.

* Drivers who flash their lights at you when you pull out in front of them in traffic. What's the point? To tell me that I pissed you off? Like I care? It's not even like I cut you off or anything. There was plenty of room. Get over it.

* Fortune-cookie fortunes that aren't actually fortunes. Most of them are actually just platitudes (e.g. "You enjoy life to the fullest"). Sometimes they're really stupid advice, like the one my coworker got today: "The dream of a lifetime is offered. Say yes!" And sometimes they're obliquely insulting, like the one I got today: "You will have the capacity to enjoy life." What do you mean, "will have"? Is that meant to imply that I currently don't have that capacity? WTF?

* Dubya and his brilliant solution for dealing with wildfires. Nuff said.

And the final thing (for the moment) that annoys me...
* Knowing that there's still three and a half working days left until I leave for Worldcon!! Why can't I go now, dammit? *pout*

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:04 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios