mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
My mom and I, and my mom's friend Linda, went to the corn festival on Sunday. It was lots of fun. There was a tent and a live bluegrass band, hay rides, kid activities, and about eight varieties of corn that you could have unlimited samples of for your $2. (They also had about two dozen varieties of tomato, but since I'm allergic I didn't try those. My mom tried quite a few of them.) We stuffed ourselves silly with corn. They also had some side-dish thingies, all with corn and/or tomatoes. After eating, we went inside the farm-stand part and bought some fruit and veggies -- not too much, since we knew they were going to be sitting in a hot car. It was just brutally hot that day, the last (?) day of the heat wave we've been having for weeks now. We had left two cars in the parking lot at my office (which is right near where the festival was) so after we finished with the festival, Linda took us back to our cars, and then she left, and we took my mom's car and went to the ocean.

We don't go to the ocean too often, mostly because we have our summer cottage on a lake so why bother? But the ocean, of course, is a whole different experience from the lake, so we do like to go occasionally. And anyway, because of the heat wave, the lake water had gotten to the point where it was too warm to even be refreshing any more. So, the ocean.

We got there about 3:30, which is fairly late for beach-going especially on a Sunday, so we didn't have much trouble finding parking. There were still quite a few people there, though! We went immediately into the water, which was cold (duh, it's the ocean) but not so freezing that you can't bear it. But we only swam (and jumped waves) briefly before deciding to sit in the sun for a bit, warm up, and then go back in.

That was the theory, anyway. But midway through the sitting part, a huge cloud came along and blocked out the sun. We were very peeved. My mom decided to swim again anyway, but I was too chilly. We waited around hoping the cloud would go away, but it didn't and our time on the parking meter had run out. We could have put in more quarters, but we decided to call it a day. Of course the sun came back out just as we finished changing back into our clothes and packing everything into the car. :P We stopped for dinner at an unremarkable place (there are zillions of places to eat around there, but they're all the same: fish, crabs, lobster, etc. and very few vegetarian options beyond french fries) and then stopped for ice cream on the way out.

It was a lot cooler by the ocean, not surprisingly. As soon as we got on the road back toward the city, there was a noticeable return to the hot and humid. :P Ugh!

I bought a purple pepper at the farm stand. I never knew peppers came in purple. It wasn't very exciting to eat, alas. It tasted mostly like a green pepper, only not quite as flavorful. Ah well.

Oh, on Saturday I didn't really do anything. I lay around panting and sweating. Then Siubhan and I went for dinner ("rent someone's AC" as she puts it) and we watched "Manchild" and then I went and watched more random TV till the wee hours. Fun. I'd call that pathetic, but really, when it's that hot, there's not much you can motivate yourself to do on a Saturday.

I love the hot weather, really -- I'm one of the only people I know who really do like it 95+ -- but the heat wave has just been too much, even for me. It's back "down" to around 85 today, and feels like a relief!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios