luxury

Aug. 12th, 2002 04:40 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
[personal profile] mamajoan
On Saturday, mom and I saw the Red Sox game courtesy of my employer's law firm, and we got to sit in the law firm's luxury box, and it KICKED ASS!

You go in, okay, and the law firm's name is on the door, and you enter into an air-conditioned room (it was 95o that day, so this was important) with its own bathroom and coat closet. And there's a fridge full of free beer and soda, and there's cheese and cold-cuts and veggies and dip and popcorn and crackers. And there's a waitress who stops by and greets you. And there's a sofa and a bunch of chairs and a TV and a counter with stools where you can see the field. And then you can go out a little door and be in the actual seats, in the heat and noise of the park, right over the third-base line (in our case) with a *perfect* view of the entire field.

And later, once more people have shown up (a couple of my coworkers, plus some other people from companies that are clients of this law firm), the waitress brings hot dogs and sausages and clam chowder. And later they bring peanuts and Cracker Jacks and ice cream -- Ben & Jerry's and Haagen-Dazs ice cream bars. And later they bring cookies and brownies and fruit. And you watch the game, and if you get thirsty or hot you go back into the AC'd room and help yourself to more soda and beer and munchies.

Dude.

Also, the game kicked ass. Pedro Martinez pitched, and he was his usual dominant self, and there were many exciting moments. The Sox beat the Twins 2-0. It was beautiful.

Afterward, the chick was all "We're gonna throw away all this leftover food" and we were all "NoooOOOooo!" so my mom took a bunch of the veggies and meat and stuff, and I took the chocolate-chip cookies and the brownies. All the food suffered a bit from the long, hot walk and bus ride back home, but it came out okay. I brought the cookies and brownies to work today and they promptly disappeared.

Man, luxury boxes are da BOMB. When I grow up I'm gettin' me one of those. *wistful sigh*

Date: 2002-08-12 02:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ex-mommybir.livejournal.com
Damn, even *I* might like baseball if I got to watch a game in that environment. *fond memories of seeing the Orioles with grandmother*

Date: 2002-08-12 02:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Heh. Well, we love baseball, so it was extra sweet. I think it was when I asked if there was any way to get ice cream and the lawyer lady said all casually "Oh, they bring it in the fifth inning" that I knew I was in love.

Date: 2002-08-12 02:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tiggrrl.livejournal.com
Heck, I don't even like watching organized sports, but I'd go if I got to sit there!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:33 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios