mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I finally got my new glasses today. I haven't decided yet whether I like them.

Before:



After:



I don't know if you can tell, but the old glasses don't even sit straight on my nose any more. They have been driving me nuts for ages.

I definitely think the new glasses look good. I just can't decide whether I'll get used to how different they feel. My chief complaint with the old ones had been that they were constantly slipping down on my nose. Unfortunately, the new ones are slipping down as well -- not as much, but enough to annoy me. I may go back tomorrow and ask the guy to adjust them some more -- but there may not be anything much he can do. I think I just have a nose that glasses like to slip down on. I used to have the kind of glasses with an earpiece that curves all the way around behind the ear, to hold them on; and it worked pretty well, but those earpieces really irritated the skin of my ears.

Anyway, these glasses sit on the bridge of my nose, as opposed to having those pinch-thingies that sit on either side of my nose; so hopefully that will make the slippage less severe. We'll see. Other than that, I like them pretty well. It's funny how much clearer things look, even though it's the same prescription! And the technology has certainly come a ways since I got my last pair (what, 7-8 years ago?). Now you can get photo-gray with plastic lenses! They're so much lighter, which is nice. But also nerve-wracking. I keep thinking they're going to fly off if I turn my head too fast. ;) Also I have a bit of a headache and amn't quite sure yet whether to blame the glasses, and/or whether it's going to pass or persist.

It's also funny how people notice or don't notice, or notice something different but can't identify it. Several of my coworkers noticed right away, several didn't notice at all. Isaac either didn't notice or didn't care or was too wound up after his day of subway-riding with grandma. ;) My mom carried on conversation with me for several minutes before suddenly doing a truly entertaining double-take. LOL! That was funny. And Ruthie! When we got to daycare to pick Ruthie up, I opened the door and her teachers were like "Ruthie, look who's here" and she saw Isaac and jumped up, and then she saw me and paused and stared like she wasn't quite sure who I was, but I sure looked awfully familiar. Then she came cautiously over to me and said "you got new glasses?" I picked her up and she was still staring into my face like, "you got new ones? they red? they on you face?" Yes, yes they are, and I'm still me. LOL!

Anyway, there you have it. Oh, and they turned out to be a bit less expensive than what the guy had quoted me last week. With my extra vision plan (on top of my regular health insurance) the frames and lenses are almost 100% covered so I just had to pay 80% of the add-ons like the photo-gray, scratch resistant coating, and so forth. It came to about $135 which isn't bad I guess.

Date: 2008-08-14 04:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lapenn.livejournal.com
I like!

FYI, I have 2 pairs of plastic frames like that. I always get a headache for the first day or two with new glasses -- it's just your eyes getting used to the different distance and size and everything. With the plastic frames, you should hopefully get used to them and find a comfortable place for them to sit. Mine rarely slip these days. Your skin will rough the plastic up a little (I'm not sure how, but it does), and that will help.

yay new glasses :-)

Date: 2008-08-14 04:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] thinking-lotus.livejournal.com
I have a super narrow nose. I don't think your nose is as narrow (at least from photos... which can be deceiving). I have to get frames with nose pieces or else I can't breathe because the glasses slide done. So I guess I am refuting our belief that the frames without them would be less likely to slip.

here is a not very flattering photo of me but it does show my nose pretty clearly.

Anyway, since I paid over $500 for my last pair of glazsses I htink $135 is pretty good.

Date: 2008-08-14 11:21 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mofic.livejournal.com
I realize it's too late, but I just love my titanium glasses. They stay on and they are so light that I barely feel them. They do curl around the ears but they don't irritate.

Date: 2008-08-14 02:09 pm (UTC)
ext_100364: (Default)
From: [identity profile] whuffle.livejournal.com
The new glasses are a really great shape for your face. I like that they highlight the cheekbones because yours are shaped really nicely.

Date: 2008-08-15 06:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pedrosmom.livejournal.com
I have to ask...why not contacts? And I'm too clueless to know, so forgive my stupidity!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:57 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios