mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Wow, yesterday was like the most eventful day in my life in a long time.

First there was the Disappearing Cat Saga. The short version: Bini disappeared, then eventually reappeared. I got up as usual and he was nowhere, but that's normal. He appeared as I was getting dressed, and we snuggled briefly, and then I had to get up and get some stuff from the closet. I continued my usual getting-ready-for-work routine, and he did whatever cats do. When I was ready to leave, I looked around for him, because I like to make sure of where he is and then close the closet door before I leave. But he was gone.

I mean, *gone.* I looked everywhere, and I know people say that, but I really did! It's not that big an apartment, really, and there aren't that many places for a 16-pound cat to hide. But I couldn't find him anywhere, and he didn't come when I called. I tried sitting on the sofa and turning on the TV, but that didn't produce him, so finally I was like, "well, I'll leave the closet doors open and just go to work."

I got about two blocks in my car before I started picturing Bini lying somewhere languishing to death of some horrible disease or injury, and then I pictured me sitting at work all day thinking about that, and I turned around and went back home. Still no Bini. I thought he might come out if he heard me talking to other people, so I called Jessie, and then I called my mom, and we talked for a while, but still no Bini. But then I told my mom the part about snuggling earlier that morning (which I hadn't mentioned) and she was like, "oh, he was around this morning? then he's got to be in the apartment somewhere! go to work!" So I went to work.

But then I was IMing Siubhan and telling her I might ask her bf, Andy, to go check again (they live next door and have a key to my place, and Andy's out of work at the moment). And she was on the phone with Andy, so she told him where they keep my keys, and he took the mobile phone with him to my place, and he told me via Siubhan that the basement door was open (which I don't get at all, cuz I'm sure I closed it!) and that he thought it would be possible for a cat to get from the basement to outside. So I freaked, and drove home on my so-called "lunch hour." I say so-called because very little lunch happened and it was considerably more than an hour. :P

Anyway, I got home again in the sweltering heat (see below) and looked yet again in all the same places, but now also in the basement, and basically wandered around the apartment calling for Bini. Then I went to the back door to call him in case he had gotten out, and when I turned away from that door and back into the kitchen, he was just coming into the kitchen from the living room.

Argh! The worst part is, now I'll never know where he was. *sigh* But he's fine and I guess all is well. Except that I wasted a whole bunch of gas and my entire lunch hour. Grump.

Then there was the weather. In the morning it was warm and humid; by noon it was in the high 90s (F) and extremely humid. Around 3pm the sky darkened dramatically and the wind picked up. People raced for their cars to close the windows they had left open. The temperature dropped twenty degrees, and then the thunder and lightning started up, and then the torrential rain. Whee!

Oh, and then there was the baseball game that my mom and I went to. It was the second game of a double-header between the Red Sox and the Tampa Bay Devil Rays, who are easily the worst team in all of major-league baseball. In the first game of the double-header, earlier that day, the Sox had beaten up the D-Rays 22-4, including three home runs by our shortstop Nomar Garciaparra, who also happened to be celebrating his birthday. Anyway, the rain, as I mentioned above, was coming down pretty hard and fast, so that when we got to the park a little before the official start time of 7pm, the field was covered with a tarp and nothin' was happening. Except that they had the Yankees-Indians game up on the scoreboard to entertain us. So mom and I chatted and watched that game for a couple of hours. Finally around 9pm, the grounds crew ran out to remove the tarp, prompting huge cheers. :) The game got underway at 9:18, only a couple hours late. *groan*

And it was a great game for eight innings. Derek Lowe shut out the D-Rays, the Sox got four runs, and we were cruisin' right along. Until the ninth inning.

It all fell apart. Our so-called middle reliever, Chris Haney, had pitched a perfect 8th but in the 9th he allowed a bunch of hits and a couple of runs, and then he hit a batter, so they took him out and put in our so-called closer, Ugueth Urbina (aka Oogie). And he gave up a home run. It went from 4-0 to 5-4 in the blink of an eye. And in the bottom of the 9th, the Sox got a couple men on base but couldn't score. So we ended up losing the game and it was ALL OOGIE'S FAULT!!! He sucks!!! He must go!!! Augh! It was just SO depressing. It was such a great game and then he has to come along and blow it. Boy, did that ever suck.

The game ended a couple minutes before midnight. At 11:48 they had flashed on the scoreboard screen something about the last public-transportation train leaving the station at midnight. I was like, "shit!", but even if I *had* left that second, I probably wouldn't have made it; and I couldn't leave because it was the bottom of the 9th, dammit. Fortunately, it turns out that whoever put that up there was on crack, because the last train actually leaves at 12:56. So it was no problem. But still, we had to watch the tragic end of the game; make our way out of the stadium; walk to the T station; then we parted ways, but I still had to ride the train all the way back to Newton and pick up my car and drive home. So by the time I got home it was almost 1am. And I can never just go directly to bed, I had to finish the crossword puzzle first, so I didn't get to sleep till probably 2. Which explains why, today, I'm seriously wishing I hadn't given up caffeine. *groan*

Anyway, that was my Tuesday. Whew. It makes me more tired just thinking about it.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios