effluvia

Oct. 23rd, 2007 03:16 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Yesterday in Harvard Square a nice middle-aged touristy couple with British accents stopped me on the street to ask for directions...to Ben&Jerry's. LOL!

Yesterday was our chorus's fall concert but I decided to bail on it. The fall concert is traditionally an informal, low-key offering, more of a warm-up for the December "Messiah" and the big spring concert (the fall concert generally consists of a small subset of the music we're doing for spring). So, it was no big deal. I wasn't in the mood and could think of a zillion other things to do with 3 hours while the babysitter was over.

So I went on a quick grocery run and then went to Dollar-A-Pound and got over nine pounds' worth of clothing, mostly for me but some for the kids. I also got a pair of jeans upstairs at the Garment District. Hopefully they will fit as well at home as they did in the dressing room. I also bought Isaac a pair of butterfly wings for Halloween.

After that I got some terrible Chinese food, ate a few bites and tossed the rest while feeling very guilty about it; then stopped at CVS, browsed for a while, stood in the makeup aisle fantasizing about magically transforming into a girly girl, woke up and bought diapers. ;) Went home and relieved the babysitter.

I guess it wasn't most people's idea of a nice night out, LOL, but it worked for me. It was nice to be able to wander leisurely through the grocery and clothing and drug stores for a bit.

I haven't posted here much lately about the whole Ruthie sleep situation but, suffice it to say, it continues to be an issue. Part of the problem is that it's hard for me to see much point in putting a lot of effort into changing the sleep situation when there are important baseball games most nights. The games start at 8pm and go into the wee hours, so I'm generally like, why bother trying to change up Ruthie's sleep when I won't be taking advantage anyway?

So our pattern lately has been that I lie down with her in her bed while Isaac lies in his bed, and we listen to music and she nurses to sleep, whereupon I disentangle myself and go do whatever (watch the game, etc.). She'll sleep in her bed for around two hours, give or take, and then wake up. Then I nurse/rock/etc. her back to sleep and put her down in my bed. Then I finish watching the game, and when it's over I go to sleep on the couch, until Ruthie wakes up again another 2-3 hours later and I get into bed with her.

It's a stupid, pointless, ridiculous pattern, but it'll work for us at least through the World Series. After that my plan is to work on getting her to sleep through the night without nursing. Or at least with less nursing.

Anyway, last night the babysitter took care of the getting-Ruthie-to-sleep-in-her-bed part, and when she woke up I rocked her back to sleep without nursing (shocker) and put her down in my bed as usual. Then since there was no game, I just bedded down on the couch, around 10:30 or 11pm. And, as usual, I got up when I heard Ruthie doing her outraged "I woke up in bed alone! oh the humanity!" cry.

But to my surprise, when I sprang up from the couch upon hearing that cry, the clock said 6:15! Wow. We must have both been pretty tired. So, yay for sleeping through the night at least once. I have no illusions that it's suddenly going to become a habit...alas....

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:38 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios