My Weekend

Jul. 9th, 2002 11:04 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Whew, was it ever a fun-filled weekend! Where to start?

Friday night, mom and I went to hear a performance at Club Passim in Cambridge, which is a fairly informal coffeehouse-type place where struggling young artists can get their music heard. This guy who was performing was a friend of my brother's when we were kids, and his sister was my best friend for a while (and their mom and my mom are still good friends). He had some really cool and funny and interesting music, but it was weird because he still looks a lot like he did as a kid (except larger and with some facial hair) and that kind of wigged me. It was fun though.

On Saturday we drove (separately) out to the cottage for our July 4th festivities, and M. and B. actually arrived *before* my mom, which a) never happens and b) is against all known laws of the universe. We've been doing July 4th with B. (friend of my brother's and mine since we were kids) and M. (B.'s mother) for many years and they are ALWAYS late. Okay, they were late this year too, but only like 2:30 or 3:00 late, which is practically early for them ;) and it was odd that my mom hadn't arrived yet. But she had gotten a slow start and then stuck in traffic. On a good day it takes an hour to get to the cottage, and Saturday wasn't a good day.

So anyway, the requisite sitting around in the sun was performed, while reading/chatting/etc., for a while. Eventually we built a fire in the fire-pit and much food was grilled. I had decided to try a tofu recipe that I found online, which I had never tried before, but it was for a marinade that you put on the tofu so you can then grill it. And I thought that having grilled tofu to go with my grilled corn-on-the-cob and squash would be a nice change from all the years when I had to supplement my dinner with, like, pasta while everyone else was having burgers. Anyway, I had bought the tofu and all the ingredients, and as instructed by the recipe I had frozen the tofu overnight. But I had thought that an hour in the car (in a cooler) would be enough time for it to defrost, about which obviously I was very mistaken. So it took forever to defrost, and I ended up putting it in the marinade even though it was still a little hard in the middle. It turned out fairly well though, especially for a first-time experiment.

Anyway, after we had finished eating it was starting to get dark, so we argued for a while (desultorily, of course) about what to do next, the votes being evenly divided between a) drive over to the dam where the town might be setting off officially-sanctioned fireworks, b) go down to the edge of our lawn and set off our own non-sanctioned fireworks, or c) partake of the traditional strawberry shortcake first and *then* do fireworks.

So B. and I decided we were going to do (b), especially since some people across the lake had started setting off their own stuff and we wanted to encourage/join them. So we set out, but just as we got outside it started to rain. B. was quite upset. It let up fairly soon and then we drove over to the dam, but there were no fireworks, so we came back, and the people across the lake had resumed setting stuff off. So we went down to the water and set off a whole bunch of fireworks, which RULED. I love setting stuff on fire. ;) And then we went inside and had the traditional strawberry shortcake, which this year I had made instead of M. because she hurt her back. You make the shortcakes with Bisquick, it's *very* easy; and then you whip the cream for, like, ever. And you cut up the strawberries and put it all together and it's The Yummiest Thing Ever. *Ever.*

Then we played bridge and hearts till we were falling over, and went to bed. Sunday, M. and B. left early, and my mom and I basically did nothing all day except sit around and read. Oh, and mow the lawn. And eat. I left around 11pm, got home around midnight, and that was my weekend.

I have to mention all the fruit we had from the fabulous farm stand. Strawberries, of course: twelve pints for $4. Blackberries: one quart for $3. Raspberries: free, thanks to Siubhan. Peaches, plums, grapes. Also celery, zucchini, summer squash, cucumbers. But the blackberries were the best part -- so huge and beautiful, so juicy and sweet! And my mom almost didn't get them, thinking the rest of us might not like them! She went back on Monday and got more, so I can go over tonight and claim a quart of my very own. I'm drooling just at the thought. :P~~~~~

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios