mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Yow! No posts from me in four days. Am I feeling all right? ;)

Nah, it has just been a busy four days, but before I get into the recitation, an anecdote from this morning that I have to get down.

I had just dropped Isaac off at preschool and put Ruthie in the car and was toodling down Highland Ave toward daycare. In my muzzy precaffeinated state I was pondering a new story idea I had had*, which, perhaps unoriginally, involved a shaman putting a piece of her self into a squirrel to roam the earth. Suddenly I noticed the car ahead of me braking heavily, so I braked heavily, and we came to a stop -- as did the other car coming toward us on the other side of the road. It wasn't a light or a stop sign or anything, so I'm peering around the car ahead of me, trying to see the little old lady or whatever it might be that caused him to stop -- and what do I see but, a squirrel! Crossing Highland Ave in rush-hour traffic. That's one lucky squirrel, I'd have to say.
* yes, I do still get story ideas, although they pretty much never go anywhere outside my head!

Anyway, it was an interesting coincidence.

So! On Friday we had Isaac's preschool "graduation" party, which was fun, albeit fairly chaotic. There was a magician-slash-petting-zoo (a magician who made various animals appear and then let the kids pet them), a pot-luck lunch, and a ton of running around. It turns out that behind the Arsenal Mall there's a great playground with a sprinkler and a big field. Who knew?

The kids put on a "show," which was kind of lame -- I think the idea was that they read a story, with each child reading one word, so as to show off their reading skilz; except that by the time they did it, the kids were all totally hyper from the food and the sitting still for the magician, and half of them were crying because of this or that minor thing (e.g. with Isaac, he didn't get the "right" balloon animal from the magician), and half of them got bored and ran back to the playground...so if there was any sense to the story they read, I certainly didn't catch it. All I caught was that Isaac's word was "Longfellow," which amused me because it's the name of the school I went to for 6th through 8th grades. Now I'm curious whether he'll recognize that word if I show it to him again out of context.

Anyway, after it was all over, some of us stayed for a while longer to let the kids run around in the sprinkler and playground. By the time I dragged Isaac away and got us home it was almost 1:30, so we had a nap (or at least a lie-down) and got up and hung out for a little while. And then we went to pick up Ruthie from daycare and took the bus back and stopped off at CVS, which was all well and good until Isaac tripped and fell while running around the aisles and hurt his foot. I'm still not exactly sure what happened, but he was sobbing and limping and swore he couldn't walk home -- it clearly hurt a lot -- and I was in despair because we only had the one little stroller and I had planned it for Ruthie, since I can't carry her and push Isaac at the same time (and she can't really walk all that way). We ended up walking home verrrrrrry slooooooowly, Isaac sobbing the whole time. When we got home I tried to ice his foot but he only permitted it for a count of 60 and then had enough. He's still limping a bit, so I'm not sure what to do about that, sigh. :(

So that was Friday. Then on Saturday we packed up for the cottage and drove out with my mom. On Sunday, one of Isaac's preschool friends came out with his parents, and much fun was had. They are Hawaiian and had not seen much in the way of lakes (in Hawaii, of course, when you go to the beach, it's the ocean). So that was interesting, and they are very cool people and it sounds like the mom may join our chorus, which is a whole other post for another time. The boys had SO much fun together though, it was awesome. We will definitely have to get together with them again.

Then on Sunday one of my mom's friends came out and we tried to have a more low-key day because both the kids were pretty worn out. Isaac I think was not feeling himself due to a combination of tiredness, his foot still hurting, and some sunstroke; he definitely got a surplus of sun on Saturday. And Ruthie seems to be suffering from the same seasonal allergies that are bothering me -- they always seem to hit right on September 1st every year. Ugh!

Anyway, so that's our weekend in a nutshell. Oh, and I finished Kindred, which was approx. as gut-wrenching as expected; and started on Misfortune by Wesley Stace, which is uh, very odd. I'm not sure what I'm going to do with it, since it's a big heavy hardcover so I won't want to take it on the commute with me. Maybe I'll manage to finish it today.

Oh, did I mention that I took today off? And am sooooooooo grateful to myself for having done that in advance. I so need a day to recuperate. I took both kids to preschool/daycare this morning and am just hanging out. In a few minutes I'm going to take the longest shower in the history of parenthood. ;) I have a huge list of things I'd like to accomplish today, but probably none or very few of them will actually get done. That's okay. It's all good....

pre-school graduation?

Date: 2007-09-04 03:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lightningrose.livejournal.com
Is Isaac really starting KINDERGARDEN already???? Holy cow!

Re: pre-school graduation?

Date: 2007-09-04 03:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
No, no. He has another year of preschool to go. It's just this cheesy thing where, if SOME kids are going off to K and need a "graduation," then all the kids have to "graduate." So some of the kids "graduated" from "Introduction to Preschool" into "Preschool 1," and some from "Preschool 1" to "Preschool 2," all of which is to say, "hey you're still going to the same preschool but now you're a bigger kid than you were before." And some kids graduated from "Preschool 2" to kindergarten. And at least one kid graduated from "Preschool 2" to "Introduction to Kindergarten," which is to say "you're old enough for kindy but your parent(s) decided to keep you in preschool for another year."

Isaac "graduated" from Preschool 1 to Preschool 2, which is basically just a fancy way of saying that he has been there for a year now and is going to be there for another year. We couldn't possibly let that milestone go by without a ceremony to mark it! Insert rolling of eyes here. ;)

Date: 2007-09-04 06:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tehomet.livejournal.com
Love the squirrel story. :)

Reminds me of years ago when I was on a driving holiday on the isle of Mull. I saw a hedgehog and stopped it so it could cross the road. A jeep coming the other way did the same. Then a baker's van. Would that happen in Dublin? In a pig's eye, it would. I love Scotland!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:55 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios