mamajoan: me in hammock (isaac and ruth july 07)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Ruthie continues to do GREAT at her new daycare. Yesterday she had another great day despite the histrionics at dropoff time (and despite only taking a 45-minute nap, eek). Today, well I can't say for sure yet, but the dropoff went pretty well and when I called midday to check in, they said she was doing fine so far.

Yesterday on the daily report sheet, after the little summary of her day that they write ("Ruth enjoyed going down the slide and playing with playdough"), they added, "She is a very happy child! :) " (yes, complete with smiley face!) Seeing that made my whole day. :)

Isaac got to come with me to pickup yesterday. Since I worked from home in order to be on hand for the stove delivery, I went to get him a little earlier than usual and then we took the bus to get Ruthie. He loved it, of course. All he needs is a bus ride to make him happy, LOL.

While we were waiting for the bus, one of his preschool friends' mom called to us did we need a ride? and I said no thanks. She went and got into her car, then got out again, came over and said she was sorry she had realized she couldn't give us a ride because she had extra people in her car, but did we need any help? It turns out she thought we were taking the bus because we had car trouble. She was offering to help transport us the next morning. Isn't that sweet? I thanked her profusely but explained that taking the bus is actually a treat for Isaac.

There's another couple at Isaac's school (they actually have three kids there -- twins and then a younger sibling) who have twice given me rides from the preschool to Davis Square, saving me the bus ride. The mom did it once and then the dad again the other day. They are very nice. When the dad learned (in the course of conversation) that I'm a single mom, he immediately said that if I ever "need a break" I should give him and his wife a call. :) Isn't that sweet too? People can be so nice. It's too bad they will be leaving -- they're moving their kids to a local parochial school. Hopefully we'll still keep in touch.

I haven't done too much with the new stove yet, but I did use it last night to boil some potatoes (which I then mashed and shared with Ruthie -- or maybe I should say Ruthie allowed me to have a couple bites ;) ) and to heat up some leftovers. And this morning I used it to scramble an egg for Ruthie's lunch. Maybe this weekend I'll actually use the oven, if the weather isn't too hot. :)

In other news, tonight mom and I are going to the Red Sox game vs. the Angels. A coworker of mom's is going to babysit. I have full confidence in her, but the kids don't really know her, so hopefully that'll be okay. I also hope I can stay awake through the whole game. ;) And tomorrow, the Corn and Tomato Festival at Verrill Farm! *drool* Any locals want to join us? We're going to go right at noon when it starts. I'm thinking Ruthie might want to try a pony ride ;) and Isaac, well, probably not but you never know. :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:57 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios