mamajoan: me in hammock (smiling little me)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Last night, as I posted before leaving work, I had a craving for Indian food. (Insert theories here about the correlation between spicy food and hot weather.) So when I got home, after I stripped off all my clothes and sat around panting for a while, I called for takeout. BTW, did I mention it was hot? It was in the low 90s (F) even at 7pm. Bini was quite upset with me (he blames me for the heat).

So I rode my bike over to pick up the food, and that makes me happy. It's too far to walk comfortably on my bunion, especially in hot weather; but it's close enough that I feel lame and slothful if I drive, plus it would have been awful in the car, the drive not being long enough for the AC to kick in. So I was happy to be able to ride my bike, the perfect in-between option. [Edit: I did put clothes back on before riding over, btw. ;) ]

I guess I must have looked like I was going to keel over when I arrived, because the waiter guy brought me a glass of water while I was waiting for my food. He was very sweet. I felt fine, not about to keel over at all, but whatever. :) Then I rode back home, and the food made it okay in my bike's basket. The raita did leak a little out of its cardboard container, but otherwise it was fine. I sat naked in front of the TV (they played TWO baseball games in that heat!) and ate my spicy food. Yay for naan and raita and basmati rice! I love Indian food. There was, as usual, lots left over, so I can have it again tonight. Yum.

It utterly failed to cool off overnight, by the way. I actually almost went to sleep with the fan on, something I prefer not to do. But I was tossing and turning in the heat... (and see previous post re: Bini still wanting to cuddle even though it's too hot). I did eventually turn off the fan, and I did eventually get to sleep. Not nearly soon enough, of course. So I'm still tired.

Oh, and I got the invitation to [livejournal.com profile] tiggrrl and [livejournal.com profile] devafall's handfasting. I'm sad that I won't be able to go because of Worldcon, but maybe at least we'll be able to hook up briefly beforehand. Take lots of pictures, you guys!

Hopefully tomorrow, since we're not going to the cottage, mom and I will go see Men In Black II. I'm soooo psyched for that movie, like you wouldn't believe! I only hope it's half as good as the original. And not one of those horrible "they should never have made a sequel" sequels. *cross fingers* In the evening, we might go up on mom's roof to watch the Boston fireworks; we tried to do that last year but the door to the roof was stuck shut. You can totally see the Boston fireworks from Cambridge where my mom lives, if you find a good spot with no tall buildings blocking your view. Anyway, Friday's a work day although I don't expect much to actually happen at the office -- most people on vacation -- and Friday night this guy who used to be my brother's best friend when they were kids is performing in Harvard Square, promoting his new self-made CD, so we'll go to that, and then Saturday it's off to the cottage for sun, fun, and fireworks. And strawberry shortcake. I cannot stress strongly enough the importance of the strawberry shortcake to our Fourth of July plans.

Indian food and strawberry shortcake. Is this lj entry trying to tell me something? Am I hungry? I just had two whole sticks of celery with peanut butter! <Homer>Mmm... peanut butter!</Homer> :)

Date: 2002-07-04 03:44 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] boiwondering.livejournal.com
Given what most of our friends and family are like, I imagine there won't be more than five seconds of the handfasting thatisn't documented on film, disc, or videotape. It'll be difficult to hear the oration for all the clicking and whirring going on... We're also sad that you won't be able to make it to the handfasting, but we are definitely gonna try to meet up with you while you're out here.

As far as the heat goes, I can sympathize: [livejournal.com profile] tiggrrl and I went to sleep the other night with the air conditioner on because it was eightysomething degrees at TWO IN THE BLOODY MORNING. Of course, it was ~107 degrees during the day, so by comparison it was cooler, but... damn.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios