mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Well, Isaac doesn't seem to have been magically cured by his one early night, but at least he got through today without any tears. And apparently he pooped on the potty today at preschool!! Which he has never done at home, which is a whole other post, but anyway, woohoo!

He also is very happy that grandma is coming back tomorrow. (I am too of course!) I think that her absence has been harder on him than he's letting on, at least overtly.

In Ruthie news, as I think I mentioned, she is starting to understand language a lot. A few nights ago, we were getting ready for bed and I said to Isaac, "okay, now we have to go fill up the humidifier," and Ruthie TOOK OFF crawling at top speed. I followed her, and she went directly into Isaac's room and straight to the humidifier! It could have been just a fluke; she knows that we go into Isaac's room after we brush his teeth, and the humidifier is the most interesting thing in his room from her POV, so she just went for it. Or so I told myself.

So then the next day I was sitting on the couch and Isaac had put a ball on my lap. Ruthie came over and pulled herself up on my knees. I said, "can you give me the ball?" and she picked it up and gave it to me! It could have been just a fluke; she is REALLY into giving things to people these days (she thinks it's hilarious to give you something and have you give it back). And the ball was right there. But still?

Then the next morning we were in bed and I said to her, "can you clap? are you gonna clap?" and she clapped!! And then Isaac was turning himself upside down and I said "oh, you're upside down" and Ruthie bent her head way backwards, the way she does when I'm holding her and she wants to go upside down.

Then later we were in the bathroom and I said "let's go change your diaper" and she crawled out of the bathroom and over to the changing table and then sat there. It is SO cool to start to see that kind of comprehension going on. I love it.

Also, Ruthie stood by herself the other day for like a whole second and a half, maybe. ;) Oh! And then the other day she was standing and holding my knee with one hand, and I offered her a toy, and instead of using her free hand, she grabbed the toy with the hand that had been supporting her. Okay, and immediately fell on her butt, but still. :) I'm going to have a toddler soon! YIKES!

Today I went to the bank to cash a check, and the teller had a little label thingie on her nametag, under her name, that said "I Love My Baby." I asked her how old the baby was and she said "She's one year old today." I said, "oh wow, my baby's one year old in three days." So we bonded over that. ;) When the transaction was finished, I wished her a happy baby-birthday. :)

Speaking of birthdays, yesterday I partook of the free scoop of ice cream from Baskin-Robbins, which they sent me a birthday coupon for. (Please to ignore the execrable grammar of the previous sentence.) One of my coworkers came along for it. It was a bit chilly and we got some strange looks. :) I commented that this is what I love about Boston -- it's 40F outside and you'll see people in shorts next to people in full winter coat/hat/gloves next to people eating ice cream. Gotta love it.

Date: 2007-03-22 12:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] techn0goddess.livejournal.com
I can almost hear the neurons growing. :) Hey, have you posted any more videos of the kids?

Date: 2007-03-22 01:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
No, I haven't been able to get any good videos lately, because when I turn the camera on they both come running over to "mug" for it, and stop whatever cute thing they were doing :(

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:15 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios