mamajoan: me in hammock (cheesecake disaster)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Thanks for the birthday wishes, all. Things continued crappy for a little while longer after I posted (petty stuff really, but resulted in me yelling at Isaac a lot more than was warranted :( and certainly less patience than one prefers to have with one's child, etc., yadda) but now are looking up!!

Cori the nanny said that she can take Isaac for a few hours, after preschool closes at 1pm. So I have my "window" of kid-free time now, until I have to go get Isaac from school and take him to Cori; and then another "window" from then until I go pick them both up.

Of course, depending on what the weather actually does, I might decide to get them a bit earlier than usual, so as to miss the ugliness that could be rush hour. The snow emergency declaration means that there's no parking on the even-numbered sides of the streets after 2pm. On our street, the odd side is the only one where you can park anyway, so it's okay; but I'd prefer not to move the car, lest I lose my spot to someone else. So I'm thinking of trying a bit of a bus odyssey to pick up the kids. Better check the schedules before I commit to that.

Anyway, so after I took Isaac to school and checked in with Cori, Ruthie and I went over to mom's place, where Ruthie spent a pleasant 10-15 minutes tormentingplaying with mom's poor lonely neglected kitties, and I opened the gift that mom had left for me, which is a gift certificate for a massage, and mom wrote on it, "includes babysitting!" I kinda had a feeling it might be that, and it's awesome, although I almost cried when I thought about how much I would love to drop everything and go have the massage Right Now. Making an appointment first would probably be wiser, though, alas.

Then I took Ruthie to Cori's place and did a quick grocery run. It was lovely to go to the supermarket with no kids. I could have spent the entire two hours just wandering the aisles ;) but I forced myself to make it snappy. Delightfully, both Ben&Jerry's AND Breyer's ice cream were on sale, so I dithered for a while and decided to get the Breyer's because, well, it's a half-gallon whereas B&J is only a pint. ;)

And then I came home and now I'm, uh, home. I should probably eat some actual food before I open the Breyer's. ;)

The snow has certainly begun to fall, but it doesn't look like anything serious yet. Hard to know what's to come. All over my flist, people are bitching about the various towns declaring emergencies, parking bans, closing schools, etc. -- but if this storm DOESN'T fizzle out, the towns will look smart and the bitchers will look dumb, nu? Of course, if it DOES fizzle out, we'll all be doing a Nelson laugh at the towns. But still, it's not even noon yet -- there's just no knowing.

Date: 2007-03-16 04:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] metafrantic.livejournal.com
Delightfully, both Ben&Jerry's AND Breyer's ice cream were on sale, so I dithered for a while and decided to get the Breyer's because, well, it's a half-gallon whereas B&J is only a pint. ;)

...you mean you didn't get both? It's your birthday, woman!

I should probably eat some actual food before I open the Breyer's. ;)

See above comment. (I am such an enabler...)

Date: 2007-03-16 04:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
lol...well, my freezer is kinda small and full of stuff, heh.

Date: 2007-03-16 04:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] metafrantic.livejournal.com
Toss out the healthy crap in favor of the ice cream! Or rather, isn't it cold enough outside right now for a bit of ice cream on the windowsill?

*BAD Meta! Stop enabling!*

Date: 2007-03-16 04:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Healthy crap?? In MY freezer? eh??

No, it's mostly breastmilk actually. And for some reason I have three zillion icepacks.

Date: 2007-03-16 04:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] angledge.livejournal.com
HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHLAAL!

Date: 2007-03-16 05:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] deepforestowl.livejournal.com
Happy Birthday! I am glad that the day is looking up!

Date: 2007-03-16 07:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] queenalia.livejournal.com
Happy Birthday!

alia
fellow fish

Date: 2007-03-17 01:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ima-omi.livejournal.com
I should probably eat some actual food before I open the Breyer's.

Now, now. Don't be hasty.

Happy birthday, Joan!

Date: 2007-03-17 05:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bearblue.livejournal.com
Ah man!!

I totally missed your birthday.

I'm sorry.

All I can say is that I was on Spring Break and haven't really been reading LJ. Posting maybe, but not reading.

Anyhow, Happy Belated Birthday. May you have a wonderful year. :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 09:56 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios