mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Yesterday after I wrote my post about being tired, I decided to call and find out whether I can get my blood drawn for a thyroid re-check without having to see my doctor. Usually this has been possible as long as I call first so they can make sure the order is in their computer system.

So I call up:

clueless medical receptionist chick: hello
me: Hi, I'm a patient of Dr. X and I need to get my thyroid re-checked, can you tell me if I can just come in or whether I need an appointment?
CMRC: let me check the system (takes my name and birthdate) There's nothing in here...hmm...okay...TSH? What is that, liver? (calling to someone else) What's TSH, is that liver?
me: It's thyroid, like I said.
person in background: thyroid
CMRC: Oh, thyroid, okay.
me: yeah that's what I said, I need to get my levels re-checked.
CMRC: What medication are you on?
me: levothyroxine
CMRC: okay, (in that tone you use when you're writing something down) levo ... thyroid ... okay, I'll put in a request for the doctor to update the order, and you can come in any time after tomorrow.
me: okay, great
CMRC: let me take your number just in case there's a problem.
me: okay (foolishly give her my home number)
CMRC: but if you don't hear back from us, you can just come in.
me: great, thanks.

So I get home later that day (yesterday) and find a message on my machine from someone at the doctor's office saying "I just need you to call and let me know what labs you wanted."

So I call back this morning and talk to a different woman:

me: you left a message yesterday saying you needed to know what labs I wanted.
Clueful Medical Chick: oh yes, the message just said...hold on...(reading off her message slip) "I'm taking levoxyl and I need to get my liver function checked." [note, levoxyl is a brand name of the medication I take, but I take a generic]
me: *headdesk*
CMC: And I was like, "well that's odd, liver functions? wtf?" [note, she did not actually say wtf]
me: yes, it's thyroid, not liver. I said that like five times. The person I talked to was a little confused.
CMC: yes, she's not a nurse, she doesn't know this stuff.
me: well, still, I did say thyroid several times, yeesh...

Anyway, so she agreed that it is past time for me to get it checked again (I had it checked several times during my pregnancy but apparently that data didn't get through to them, because her system said that the last time I got it checked was sometime in mid-2005) and she put the order in, so I can go in any time and get my blood drawn. So yay for that, although I'm still annoyed about the idiot who took my message. :P

Date: 2007-03-07 08:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] metafrantic.livejournal.com
WTF indeed. You said thyroid, the background person said thyroid, your medication sounds like "thyroid"... Jeez!

...nope, nothing else to say. I just wanted to use the icon. *points*

Date: 2007-03-07 08:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Yeah, and how do you look at TSH and go "hmm, sounds like liver"?? It starts with T for pete's sake!

Cute icon. *pats you on the head*

Date: 2007-03-07 08:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pekmez.livejournal.com
"level" sounds like liver, I suppose.

Not that this excuses the idiotic behavior. But I bet that's where she got liver.

Date: 2007-03-07 08:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
hmm, good point -- maybe she thought I said "get my thyroid and liver checked"?

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:21 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios