mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Well, on the plus side there hasn't been any more barfing in our household since yesterday evening. Ruthie herself hasn't barfed since around noon yesterday. As for me I've been pretty much fine since my last "episode" around 7pm last night. And we both seemed pretty much fine despite a weird night.

Today I ate: a banana, a bowl of oatmeal, and a lot of saltines. And I drank a lot of water and a cup of mint tea and a couple glasses of cranberry-grape juice. It's a sign of still being sick that I don't feel particularly hungry despite such small amounts of food today.

Pretty much spent the day just lying around doing nothing. My stomach mostly felt fine, but I was tired and listless from the lack of calories. Isaac bounced off the walls all day. *sigh*

The new problem now is that my car is basically one big hunk of ice. Perhaps you've heard, or noticed depending on where you live, that we have been having some weather. I guess I shouldn't complain since some of you have had feet and feet of snow whereas we barely had a few inches. But unfortunately yesterday after a few inches of snow fell, then there was a bunch of freezing rain, and then regular rain, resulting in huge piles of slush everywhere. Which then froze overnight. Literally, the entire left side of my car is coated in a centimeter of ice and the wheels are iced over to about 6-8 inches depth. I can't even open the driver's-side door let alone have any hope of freeing the wheels. Brian (upstairs neighbor) said it took him an hour to get his car out this morning, with the help of three neighbors, a whole lot of salt, pieces of cardboard, shovels, etc....

So there's no way my car is going anywhere without some serious help. Fortunately, my mom's car isn't in as bad shape -- possibly because she used it last night to come over and feed/entertain the kids while I was lying on the floor barfing and feeling sorry for myself. So, she has agreed to come over in the morning and take Isaac to preschool. Then I'll either have to manage to dig out my car tomorrow during the day, or enlist Brian to pick Isaac up in the evening. Oy.

It's supposed to be a balmy 35 degrees on Saturday, so maybe I'll be able to get the car out then.

Ah, the joys of winter! And we thought maybe we weren't even going to have one this year. I'm not counting my chickens. I still remember the April Fool's Day blizzard of '97.

Date: 2007-02-16 01:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] techn0goddess.livejournal.com
Urgh! No fun, no fun. We got 3" of sleet, but it stayed below freezing the whole time, so there was only a tiny bit of ice under all the loose sleet. It didn't take too long (relatively speaking) to dig out our cars. I hope you get a good thaw.

Date: 2007-02-16 03:47 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] 3under3.livejournal.com
I remember the April Fool's Blizzard! I was living in Boston at the time, now I'm so grateful to be in TEXAS!

Date: 2007-02-16 04:08 pm (UTC)
ext_100364: (Default)
From: [identity profile] whuffle.livejournal.com
Yeah, damned April fools blizzard. Actually, weren't we stuck in Boston for that blizzard trying to get back to Oberlin?

Date: 2007-02-16 07:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
I sure wasn't, since I had already graduated :) but you may well have been for all I know! My mom was flying back from California that weekend and ended up getting diverted to Newark and then put on a train to Boston. It was ugly.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:13 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios