who, me?

Jun. 17th, 2002 11:13 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I had a very butch weekend. :) On Saturday I bought a new TV stand and assembled it myself, which involved much deciphering of quite complex instructions, and much screwing of screws at odd angles and into wood that didn't have pre-drilled holes. Hence, much arm strength was required. (also, the loan of a screwdriver from next door. Note to self: buy a screwdriver or three.)

Then, once it was assembled, I pushed it aside thinking I'd have to wait until I could get a large strong friend or two to help lift the TV onto it. But then on Sunday I was staring at it, thinking how annoying it was, taking up even MORE space in the living room, and suddenly I found myself thinking, "the hell with large strong friends!" and I got the TV onto it by myself. Mostly by sliding and pulling, more than lifting.

So now my TV is all happy, sitting on a stand that was made for it and looks all nice. And my DVD player and TiVo are all happy that they have their own little shelves to sit on, rather than sitting on the floor atop their cardboard boxes. Yay.

And then I went the extra step and got rid of the futon too. I dragged the mattress into the closet (and if you've ever dealt with a futon mattress you know how HEAVY they are!), and disassembled the frame and took its pieces into the basement, along with a bunch of stuff that I had to take out of the closet in order to get the futon mattress in. Lucky for me that I have two nice big closets.

So now the living room seems WAY more spacious, what with the DVD and TiVo tucked out of the way on their shelves, and the futon gone. I don't know what I'll do with that space. I had been thinking about getting an exercise bike to put there, but since now I'm probably going to join the $60/month gym, that would be redundant. It's quite possible that I'll just leave that space empty until Plan G comes along.

Bini is quite traumatized by the whole thing, since underneath the futon was his favorite place to run and hide when something (namely, any moderately loud noise) freaked him out. But, he'll just have to deal. I tried to compensate by putting the table that the TV used to sit on next to a window, so he could sit on it and look out the window. He hasn't figured that out yet. He's a bit slow.

So that was the butch-ness of my weekend. I don't often get to feel butch, so it was nice. :)

I also accomplished a bunch of other stuff this weekend that made me feel, not necessarily butch, but, well, accomplished. *g* I bought a bunch of veggies, got my uncle a birthday present (mom is flying out to visit him and grandma today, so I sent the present along with her, saving postage and ensuring it'll be there early), got a new motherboard battery for my computer in hopes that would make it happier (didn't seem to, alas), reinstalled Win98 for approximately the 98th time, and, uh, that might be all. I didn't get around to the cleaning that the bedroom still needs. Maybe this week. Hey, don't look at me like that. I said maybe. Geez.

Mom's gone this week, first in LA with uncle and grandma, then in Denver for a work thing. (Unless the fires get worse and they decide to cancel it. Ack!) So I have to go over to her place a couple times at least, and entertain her poor lonely kitties. I can also have the use of her station wagon, to haul my bike from her basement to my place. I still haven't gotten off my ass to buy a bike helmet, yet. *writes to-do list*

So that was my weekend. Oh, and I finished The Curse of Chalion. It was great! I don't know why it took me so long to get around to reading it. Actually, yes I do: it's because Lois Bujold's last non-sci-fi book (The Spirit Ring) was so ehh. I love Lois, but after reading The Spirit Ring I was thinking she should really just not try to write fantasy, stick to her strengths. But now I think that it was just an aberration, because The Curse of Chalion was excellent. Yay! Lois rules!

And now, perhaps, to get some work done. Hey, don't look at me like that. I said perhaps. Geez. ;)

C of C

Date: 2002-06-17 10:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] calligrafiti.livejournal.com
I was rereading Curse of Chalion this weekend. (It's a great book to take with you when waiting on car repairs.) I'm thoroughly in love with Caz. On the Bujold list I'm on, there was a recent thread on how we'd like to cast the C of C movie, should such a thing ever happen. I'd love to see Anthony Stewart Head (Rupert Giles on Buffy) as Caz. He's a little older than the character, but since Caz is in a feudal setting and there's textev. that he looks a bit older than he is, I think it would work.

Congrats on the successful butchdom. I love being able to do that sort of thing, too. The last time I rewired the dryer plug I grinned about it for a week.

Re: C of C

Date: 2002-06-17 07:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Heh. And Caz is such a classic Lois character; he's Miles and Ethan and Leo. You gotta love him. I think ASH would be ideal to play him!

*ponders* Why aren't I on any Lois lists? Hmm.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios