Halloween!

Nov. 1st, 2006 12:37 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Halloween was way fun this year! Isaac is old enough to really "get it" now and he had a blast. He was hilarious in fact -- had NO hesitation about going up to people's doors and demanding candy from them. ;) Many, many times after he had helped himself to a couple pieces from the person's bowl, he would announce, "I'm just gonna take one more." LOL -- as I said to my mom, this year it's cute; in another couple of years it'll be obnoxious. ;)

The kittycat costume that I threw together worked well. It was just black pants, black sweater, tiger ears from [livejournal.com profile] anotherjen, a tail that we made out of an old black pair of tights, and some black makeup crayon whiskers. (Several of you suggested painting whiskers on Isaac's face with eyeliner, as if you seemed to think that I would have such a thing handy in my home. Bwahahaha!) It was great that the weather was unseasonably warm last night, so I didn't have to bundle Isaac up underneath his costume.

Isaac greatly enjoyed helping me stuff one leg of the tights with newspaper to make a tail. Then, predictably enough, he wanted to push it around on the floor and pretend it was a train (he pretends EVERYTHING is a train, including himself, me, and the baby). I didn't want it getting all dirty and non-black, so we made a second one using the other leg of the tights. He was very happy.

And we had a lot of fun trick-or-treating. Since it was so warm, a lot of people were hanging out on their front steps handing out candy, and everyone was in a good mood. Isaac of course charms everyone he meets, and everyone was very happy to give him lots of candy. His little basket kept overflowing and my mom kept putting handfuls of the candy into her pockets to make room for more in Isaac's basket. LOL. He made out like a bandit. And the beauty of it is, if I eat half his stash, he'll never know! At least, not until he's 32 and I come along with him to take his kids TOT'ing for the first time! ;) hee hee!

In the course of it all, I discovered that a guy I went to elementary and high school with lives right around the corner from us. It was funny -- he and his roommate and girlfriend were sitting on their front step, and I wasn't even really looking at him -- focused on Isaac and making sure he didn't take all their candy ;) -- and then he said my name, and I looked at his face and recognized him instantly. So my mom took Isaac to a few more houses while I chatted with the guy and caught up a bit. Weird to think we have lived SO close to each other for 2+ years and not realized. So that was kind of neat.

Anyway, I'll post pix of Isaac's costume later. I never did put anything on Ruthie, despite having gotten costumes for her from [livejournal.com profile] anotherjen and [livejournal.com profile] lightningrose -- she was cranky and I just decided it wasn't worth the bother. (Jen, let me know if you want yours back to try to ebay it again.) Bottom line, though, a fun time was had by all. :) And now we have WAY too much candy, of course.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:12 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios