mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Well, here it is two months since I said a not-so-fond farewell (more like a "good riddance") to my gall bladder. And I honestly feel just fine, except for the fact that I'm more regular than I have ever been. It's a bad idea for me to do anything in the first ~2 hours after waking up that involves limited access to a bathroom; but as long as I remember that rule, it's all good. Really, people who haven't seen me much since then keep saying "How are you feeling?" in that solicitous tone, and I have to pause to remember why they're asking. ;) The body's powers of regeneration really are pretty amazing.

I eat everything I've always eaten, which is perhaps unfortunate in some ways ;) but certainly better than the alternative. Pretty much the only permanent dietary change I've made is to switch from 2% milk to 1% -- which I know is a pretty minor thing, but I do drink a lot of milk so I figure it must be helping at least a little bit. (Speaking of milk, we just got two gallons yesterday with WIC, and I think we have another 5 gallons' worth to use up by next Wednesday...*facepalm* Anyone need some milk?)

My four teeny little incisions/scars are still pretty vivid red (especially on my white-as-white belly, heh), but they don't hurt or anything, and I'm sure they'll fade somewhat over time.

It has also of course been two months since I got laid off, and in some ways it feels like forever. I can't deny that there are some nice things about it -- like being able to wear my schlumpy clothes all the time ;) and getting a break from the constant driving, and of course spending the extra time with the kids, particularly Ruthie, who is in a stage of so much developing and learning and exploring right now, it's really fun to watch and sad to miss out on. I know I don't have to tell you about all the downsides to being unemployed, since I've been ranting about them at great length recently. ;)

Speaking of which, though, I've been pondering whether it might make sense to seek a job that pays just under the amount that qualifies me for the aid programs, rather than go back to a higher-paying one that still won't pay all the bills. I mean, even at my new-job-that-I-only-had-for-two-weeks, despite the fact that it was paying me a very decent salary by outside standards, I was still going to have to borrow heavily from the Bank of Mom just to keep my head above water. In some ways now it seems crazy to go back to that, since I think it's pretty unlikely that I'll find anything that's going to pay me significantly more than that company was paying me. So then I think, what if I could figure out the amount (I'm thinking somewhere around $30K/year) that I could make, that would allow me to pay the mortgage and the other bills, but still would be low enough to qualify us for the subsidized childcare (and WIC, and etc.)? I mean, the daycare is really the sticking point; if I don't have to pay that, I can easily survive on a MUCH lower salary.

And it would only have to be for a year, because come next September, Isaac will be able to start free preschool, and Ruthie will be 15 months old which is the age at which most daycare centers move a baby up from infant to toddler, with a corresponding decrease in cost. So maybe then I could look into getting a higher-paying job.

Anyway, nothing's decided. It's just something I've been thinking about. And [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd mentioned that she would probably be quite easily able to hook me up with that kind of a job at her workplace, which is also my mom's workplace, and how cool would it be for us all to be working in the same place? It's a thought....

more later, Ruthie's fussy

Date: 2006-10-16 04:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cheryln.livejournal.com
You know, going on what you were saying last week (maybe before, I was away last week so my timeline may be a little off) about job-hunting, a job like that may be a good decision in ways other than financial ones. Do something low-key for a little while, without career or advancement or long-term stresses, while you sort through what you want to be doing next.

paypal?

Date: 2006-10-18 04:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] queenalia.livejournal.com
i got a receipt that paypal sent your account money, but i wasn't sure you actually got it. can you let me know?

:*)
alia

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:33 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios