truth hurts

Oct. 1st, 2006 09:45 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (cheesecake disaster)
[personal profile] mamajoan
There's an old stupid joke that goes, "what do you get when you play a country song backwards? you get your dog back, you get your truck back, you get your wife back...."

Aside from the fact that it's a dumb joke that doesn't even work any more because today's young whippersnappers don't even understand what playing a song backwards would be... ;) the point is that this joke pretty much taught me everything I know about country music, or at least about the common stereotypes of country music. And lately I've come to feel like my life over the last couple months reads like a stereotypical country song.

It's just a little embarrassing, is all. I've gotten emails/calls from people I haven't heard from in a while, and they're all, "so how are things?" and. Well. How are you really going to say "I got a new job, then I spent a week in the hospital having an organ removed, then I lost my new job, then my aunt and my cat died"? It's ridiculous. How can that conversation possibly end? "Oh, gee, I'm so sorry. Uh...I broke a nail yesterday?" I don't want to be that person. I've had people in my life who always have stuff to complain about, and it's tedious and soul-sucking, and I don't want to fill that role in any of my friends' lives. It doesn't matter that all my stuff to complain about is valid -- that only serves to make people feel guilty about being bored/annoyed with it. It doesn't change the fact that it's boring and annoying.

In short: I need to win the lottery, just so I can say "What's up with me lately? Well, let's see: organ removal, layoff, deaths in family...WON THE LOTTERY!"

edit:
In case it wasn't clear, this is not an apology. Nor is it an invitation/request for you to reassure me that it's okay to be a downer in my posts. I know it's okay. I am one of the biggest proponents ever of the philosophy that "it's my journal, I'll post what I want and if you don't like it you don't have to read it."
No, this is just a core dump of some feelings I wanted to express. And a semi-humorous way of giving you permission to be annoyed/bored with me. ;)

Date: 2006-10-01 02:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amazuvirtu.livejournal.com
I think it is okay to share that everything is falling down around you.
When things are like that with me I add an emotional or things right update on it as well.
shit is happening...but I am holding up
shit is happening...I will cope with all this in time
shit is happening...and I sure appreciate a friend listening
shit is happening...but the kids are well

shit is happening...and it's okay to be down Joan, even for a period of time, doesn't mean you are chronically complaining and soul sucking, it means you are human.

Date: 2006-10-01 04:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] anotherjen.livejournal.com
Ditto on all that.

Date: 2006-10-01 05:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mofic.livejournal.com
doesn't mean you are chronically complaining and soul sucking, it means you are human.

I agree. Plus you tend to say something positive in among the woes - about how cute the kids are or that you finally got unemployment or whatever. But I do think winning the lottery is a great idea!

Date: 2006-10-01 10:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] munoz.livejournal.com
I think you need to write a song now.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:33 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios