mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I forgot to mention that I have arranged with [livejournal.com profile] gosling for her to watch Isaac at her place two mornings a week. This will hopefully work out well because it'll get Isaac out of the house, get him and me some apart-time which I think will really benefit us, and also give him some time to interact with [livejournal.com profile] gosling's son, who although he's about a year and a half younger than Isaac is still close enough in age that they can play together somewhat -- and that will benefit both of them.

So today was the first trial of this, and it seems to have gone well. The boys are at such different developmental stages that it'll take some adjusting for them to play together, but so far so good. Yay.

Today's mail brought a whole bunch of different letters from the MassHealth (aka Medicare) people.
Letter 1: Informing me that they're still processing my application but in the meantime the kids are eligible for 60 days of provisional coverage starting 8/27.
Letter 2: Informing me that in order to process my application they need proof of citizenship and identity for all three of us. I found this confusing since I brought my passport and the kids' birth certificates to the appt last week, and the woman photocopied them, so wtf? (more on this in a moment)
Letter 3: Giving me my actual MassHealth insurance card and telling me that it's valid effective immediately.

So I called their 800-number and waited on hold for ages and finally a woman came on who said that our documentation (see above) wasn't on file. In frustration I asked her why the woman last week bothered to copy it all? and of course she couldn't answer that. Then she said oh wait, the computer shows that they have "something" paperwork-wise that they have received but not yet processed. She couldn't even say what it was, but she gave me the number for the place where they process it all, and said I should call there in a few days. Sigh. I sure hope that "something" turns out to be the right stuff, because this is annoying.

But at least we have coverage for the moment. So I went ahead and made Ruthie's appointment for her 6-month checkup in a couple of weeks. Fortunately, our pediatrician takes MassHealth. Yay.

I'm still trying to find someone to lend us their WGBH membership card so we won't have to pay to attend the Ice Cream FunFest tomorrow. My mom has a card, but it only admits two people and if [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd want to come, we'll have a lot more than two. (And by the way [livejournal.com profile] ima_omi, I was going to ask you if you wanted to come along, if I could ever get you on the phone...tag, you're it!)

uh-oh, baby's up, more later

Date: 2006-09-15 08:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ww1614.livejournal.com
If we go, I'm going to buy a membership that gets admittance for 4 to the Ice Cream Fest. Does that include children or is it 4 adults? I can't figure out from the site.

Date: 2006-09-15 11:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rainbow-goddess.livejournal.com
The U.S health care system is so screwed up.

Date: 2006-09-17 04:38 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] peterchayward.livejournal.com
Hell yeah. The rest of us just watch and go "What the hell are they doing?"

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:04 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios