non-scents

Jul. 5th, 2006 04:52 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (isaac bfing)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I know you're dying to hear the results of my breastmilk sniff-test after reading yesterday's post about the milk that I suspected had gone bad.

Today's milk -- both the freshly pumped, and the stuff that had been chillin' in the fridge for a few hours -- had no odor at all. This makes sense to me, because the rule of thumb about cow milk is that when fresh it has no smell, and the stronger it smells, the less fresh it is.

So, this also unfortunately means that I'll probably have to dump the stuff I have at home that went to the cottage and back. It's well-traveled breastmilk, and now it's going to be traveling down the drain. Oh well. I pumped about 11 ounces today, and it sounds like Ruthie has been taking the frozen stuff from her bottles pretty well, so it's all good. At least this gives me the opportunity to rotate my freezer stash. I may do a little more of that, to clear out the stuff from April.

On the plus side, I bet not many people can walk around saying "I sniffed my breastmilk today," so at least I'm not a boring soccer-mom yet. ;)

Date: 2006-07-06 02:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] auntfaintly.livejournal.com
Perfectly good breastmilk can smell really awful, especially after freezing and thawing. I mean smell like vomit, distinctively gross but not much like spoiled cow's milk. It is supposedly something to do with some enzyme in it, which some people have more of than others. But if you are not short of supply, why risk it?

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:21 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios