mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Yeah, so I found someone to drive Isaac to daycare on Tuesday mornings, and today was her first time. Her name is Trisha and she was recommended to me (actually as a babysitter) by another local mom whom I know from online. We had Trisha come over last Saturday just briefly to meet Isaac and chat with me, so she wouldn't be a total stranger today. That went well. Isaac and I both adored her, and I was thisclose to asking her to ditch the family she currently nannies for and be our nanny ;) when she revealed that she's planning to start med school in the fall. She is still deciding between two schools that accepted her, but they're in Chicago and Philly, so we'll be losing her either way. :( Oh well. Meanwhile, I may have her babysit once or twice on weekends, and if nothing else, she'll be driving Isaac to daycare on Tuesdays. She also may be able to pick him up on Wednesdays.

Anyway, this morning after we put the carseat into her car and put Isaac into it and she drove off, I had a mild panicky attack of nerves. OK, I trust the person who recommended Trisha, and Trisha herself seems great, but what if she's really a serial killer?? They are after all masters of seeming normal! AUGH!

Well, she did come back and return the carseat, which I guess is a good sign, although she could easily have dumped Isaac's body right around the corner and then spent the next hour and a half sitting there snickering. I am currently fighting the urge to call daycare and verify that Isaac is really there....

(just to be clear, all of this is meant humorously, as I really don't think Trisha did anything other than drive Isaac to daycare and drop him off, and I'm sure everything is fine. But one can't help entertaining these morbid paranoid thoughts....)

Well, in any case, what's done is done and at least neither I nor my mom had to worry about doing the driving this morning. And the actual task of getting Isaac up and ready for daycare on a schedule, by myself, which I had been fairly worried about, actually went very well. So yay for that. I hope it goes just as well tomorrow morning.

I have also found someone to drive Isaac to daycare on Fridays; a member of our chorus whom my mom talked to (mom talked to EVERYONE in chorus about the driving thing). I'm not nervous about this at all because I know her and am sure it will be fine, albeit she is a talker and so is Isaac so that could get "interesting." ;) She also plans to bring her 4-year-old granddaughter along "for the ride" which could also be interesting. But whatever, she's willing and able and I'm sure it will be fine. So that only leaves Wednesdays with no one to drop off, so my mom will be doing it at least for this week while we try to track down someone else to do it.

And now, it is time to have some breakfast and return my ass unto bed, for lo, I am way fuckin' beat. It was a long weekend. It's kind of weird now how I look forward to the weekdays when Isaac will be in daycare and I can spend the day resting.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 06:09 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios