mamajoan: me in hammock (waaah)
[personal profile] mamajoan
So I went to the daycare's "Friendship Party" this afternoon. It turned out to be one of those things that seem specially designed to make me feel like a clueless and socially inept mom.

First of all, I was the only parent there, even though I was under the impression that parents were invited, even encouraged, to attend. So either I was wrong, or none of the other parents could get away, or there's some unstated but known to everyone except me rule that you don't go to those things even though the daycare staff say you're invited.

So I got there and the kids were all sitting around their table like they do every day at that time for afternoon snack. The only difference as far as I could see was that there was extra food -- the goodies provided by me and one or two other parents. It seems that the other parents brought their contributions in the morning and just left them there. Was I supposed to do that? I don't know.

When I arrived, Isaac was crying because they had pulled him out of his room (the 2-year-old room) to go play outside with the 3-year-olds. This is part of their transition process in preparing him to move up to the 3s which he'll do next month. They've put him in with the 3s in their room numerous times before, but apparently today was the first time they sent him *outside* with the 3s, and he didn't like it. And of course he cried harder when he saw me. I took him back inside to join the "Friendship Party" and he continued crying until he saw that there was food ;) then he took off his coat and boots and so forth, with much whining, which I really think was for my benefit. Then he sat down to eat. The other kids were all eating (or not, you know, in toddler fashion) and Isaac totally ignored the parent-provided goodies and would only eat the daycare-provided snack (nutrigrain bars). But whatever, it's a toddler thing.

But then I decided to leave and go back to work. I felt weird about the whole thing, really. I mean, they scheduled the thing for 3:30, and I don't usually pick up until 5:45ish, so it was far enough before my usual pickup that I didn't think I should just take him with me when I left; yet it was close enough to pickup time that it seemed weird to show up briefly and then leave. But, showing up briefly and then leaving is what I did. I was quite worried about how Isaac would react to me leaving, but I just said cheerily, "Bye Isaac, I'm going back to work, I'll be back to pick you up again soon." He didn't much care for it. As I was walking out I could hear him fussing. Then as I walked past the building, his teacher opened the window and called to me that Isaac was saying he wanted a goodbye hug from me. I told her that I thought it would just make things worse if I came back inside again, so she said she would tell him I had already gone.

I feel crappy about the whole thing. I don't know. I feel like an idiot for not knowing whether I was really "supposed to" go to the damn party. I mean, I knew in advance that it would feel weird to show up so early and then leave without taking him -- but I figured that if he saw other kids' parents doing the same thing, he would accept it. But there were no other parents, so instead it must have just seemed totally confusing to him: first they bundled him all up into his snow stuff and took him outside, then I appeared (which no other kid's parent had done) and took him back inside, then I left. And as I was leaving, the teachers were starting to get the 2-year-olds ready to go outside!!

So now I'm worried that he'll have spent the whole rest of the afternoon crying and fussing and wanting me, and confused about all of it. And I'm wondering why I went to so much trouble with the muffins when it turned out that there weren't any parents to feed, and there were in the end only 10 kids at the party so I could have just stuck with my original 10 muffins, and of course some of the kids (including mine!) refused to eat muffins anyway. I mean, not that it matters; the daycare staff will eat the rest of the muffins and probably appreciate them and that's fine. But it definitely doesn't feel like it was worth staying up past midnight to bake extra muffins, resulting in me being dead tired today, which in turn is probably why this whole stupid thing just makes me want to cry.

How is it that I tried so hard, harder than I usually do, to be one of the clueful involved moms, and wind up feeling more than ever like one of the stupid graceless ones?

anyway, just needed to vent. sigh.

In other news, today the daycare staff also had amongst themselves a cookie swap -- thing where everyone bakes cookies and you bring them in and then you get a little package containing some of each other person's cookies -- and Isaac's teacher made up a plate for me with one of each type of cookie. Apparently, she doesn't think I get enough sugar in my diet already. ;) I appreciated it, but since I was already also eating muffins and all that, it was just way too much. I gave several of the cookies to coworkers and the rest of them are sitting here mocking me with their sweet, probably tasty homemade goodness. urgh.

Date: 2006-02-14 10:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ww1614.livejournal.com
OMG, my sympathies. I don't get HOW the hell everyone knows how these things work except me. And, apparently, you. :)

I spent last night having Sophie and Eric sign generically dumb valentines while I attached lollipops to Eric's (Sophie took care of her own).

Date: 2006-02-14 10:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hopemcg.livejournal.com
Ugh. How frustrating! I'm guessing the daycare wanted the parents to come, but none of them did except for you. Maybe that's why they gave you a plate of cookies?? It was an "everybody sucks but you" token???

Maybe they also thought that with a bunch of parents there that the party would drag on until time to take the kids home and there wouldn't be the confusion.

Date: 2006-02-15 01:00 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
I think giving me the cookies was really just a Karen thing -- she seems to have a soft spot for me and is always doing little things like that. As for the timing, they held it at the time they usually have afternoon snack, which makes sense. And I do think they kind of thought that any parent who came to the event would take their kid with them afterward. If I'd planned further ahead I probably *would* have done it that way, to minimize confusion for him. But it was just weird.

I think it's really just that I'm the only parent with a job close enough, and flexible enough, to permit popping off to daycare for a little while in the middle of the afternoon. I'm sure they DID want parents to come but the reality is that most couldn't. I'm also sure that at least 50% of the awkwardness was all in my head....

Date: 2006-02-14 11:40 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ima-omi.livejournal.com
I really think it's the other parents who are lame and not you. It's always a good choice to be involved in your child's school activities, as long as you're not the annoying mom chaperone at the 7th grade dance! But Isaac's day care providers could have taken a straw poll about who was coming and adjusted timing, etc. in order to obviate any awkwardness.

Can I use obviate like that? I hope so. It looks cool.

Date: 2006-02-15 01:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
LOL. You can use obviate like that, and it is cool. :)

I don't think they should have adjusted the timing; they held the party at the time the kids are accustomed to having afternoon snack, and I think that's quite sensible. And a lot of parents pick up earlier than me anyway, so it's possible that they thought some parents would come to the party and then take their kids when they left. But after calming down a bit ;) I think the real issue was just that the other parents couldn't get away. Not everyone can work five minutes away from daycare, and not everyone can just pop out of work in the middle of the afternoon.

Date: 2006-02-15 12:31 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aelf.livejournal.com
A lot of it is different cultures. At Zoe's previous daycare, parents almost always came to those party things. At her current one, not so much. One of the differences is the previous daycare was super yuppie, double income, professional blah blah parents, and the current one is more working class. So while I can get time off to go to all these things, help out at field trips, yadda yadda, a lot of parents can't. Or can only come very rarely because they have limited flexibility with their jobs.

IME daycare workers, preschool teachers, teachers, etc appreciate *any* parent involvement, so I think you were the only one who felt awkward and I hope you're able to rid yourself of the feeling quickly. (I tend to feel awkward too, so I do things like bring the goodies as the party's starting, to scope out if anyone else is there to decide if I want to stay, and so on.)

When I show up to an event, unless I absolutely *have* to get back to work, I tend to take Zoe home with me, but not all parents do.

Date: 2006-02-15 07:21 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] babyotto.livejournal.com
Add me to the list of people who have no clue about thse things. And I am dealing with daycare (of which I am the president, so I figure I set the rules and therefore usually get it right), preschool and school this year.

Last night I made mr babyotto go to the thing at school. I was just too darn sick of going to them all and having to feel my way.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:14 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios