mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I thought we'd make muffins today, for no real reason other than that baking seems like the thing to do when you're snowed in. Well, that and I'm apparently on a muffin-baking kick lately, if twice in a week can be called a kick. (I think it can if you never bake muffins....) Last week I made strawberry muffins for the Hot Foods party, mainly because I saw the recipe on the side of the strawberry yogurt container and it piqued my interest. They came out kinda bland, but (I thought) decent.

So today I looked up a generic sour cream muffin recipe in Joy of Cooking and we made it, with yogurt instead of the sour cream. Here's the serendipity part: as we were pouring the batter into the muffin tins, I realized that the muffin-tin-liner papers I had pulled out, the only ones I had, were decorated with little red and pink hearts. And Valentine's Day is two days away, and the daycare is having a party. Of course, they call it a Friendship Party; and of course, I'm anti-Valentine's-Day even if you call it friendship; but still, it seemed like the universe was telling me that I was meant to donate my muffins to the party. Instead of devouring them all myself within the first day ;).

Except, there were only ten heart-decorated liner papers left. We wound up with fifteen muffins (after we ate one -- quality control, you know) and I can't find the piece of paper the daycare gave out, where they gave the names of all the kids in the toddler room, in case I wanted to get "friendship cards" for them. (I don't, in case you hadn't figured that out.) I'm pretty sure there are fewer than fifteen kids. I'm not so sure there are fewer than ten, and I don't know whether it would look weird, or insulting, or something, if one or two kids get muffins without liner papers. So I'm not sure what to do. This is a pressing problem because if I knew I didn't have enough muffins, I could be eating them with impunity right now. ;)

Also, the muffins didn't come out that well again. They're not bad, just not too exciting. I figure the kids won't care, or if they do, it'll be indistinguishable from normal toddler picky-eating behavior. At least I'll look like a mom who made an effort. Unless there aren't enough, in which case, uh, I got nothin'. ;)

I could say that I'll make another batch of muffins, but that seems somewhat unlikely...on the other hand, you never know.

We did get kind of a lot of snow. It's hard to say exactly how much, what with all the blowing and drifting, but when I shoveled our walk, it was definitely at least a foot deep. Whee! I have no idea what tomorrow will bring. It seems to have stopped snowing, which would seem to mean that there's plenty of time for the roads to be cleared before the morning commute. But I also got an automated email notifying me that the town I live in has canceled school for tomorrow. I don't know whether that might mean that the town where I work, and where daycare is, will have done the same. I guess all I can do is get up in the morning and call daycare to find out if they're open.

I said it before the storm, and now I'll say it after: I'm very grateful that this happened on a weekend. Much less stressful all around.

I'm too worn out to do a full description of our day, so I'll sum up thusly: We took a walk in the snow. Isaac hated it. My back hated it even more because we took the stroller because he refused to actually walk. Back still hurts. Isaac fully recovered. And that's the executive summary. Man, do I ever need a nice hot shower. sigh.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 09:54 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios