mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Well, it seems that we're supposed to get a snowstorm over the next couple of days. They aren't sure how big it's going to be; I've seen some forecasts suggesting that we might get 3 inches an hour for a period of time tomorrow night, and possibly a total accumulation measured in feet -- but at the same time they're all saying that the storm is unstable so it's hard to say what will actually happen.

I'm pleased that this is going to happen over a weekend. Y'all have already read my rants about all the Friday and Monday storms we've had this year. If we do get a lot of snow, I sure hope that it's all done falling by Monday morning, like they're currently saying it will be. Of course, it will put quite a crimp in my nascent weekend plans, but that's okay. I'd prefer that over the rage-honing alternative of having to make that ugly weekday decision (brave the awful commute vs. be stuck at home with an antsy toddler).

Anyway, nothing to do but wait and see what we actually get. Damn, and I need groceries. We better go tomorrow morning. I bet the store will be packed. Ah well.

Last night at grandma's house, Isaac and grandma were blowing bubbles (a bottle of bubble-stuff and a couple of wands -- cheap entertainment and he LOVES it) and apparently a bubble popped right in his face and he got an eyeful of bubble-stuff. Soap, basically. Well, needless to say he cried a lot -- my mom says she thought that he cried enough to wash it out, but she washed it out more anyway with some saline drops, which he hated. When I arrived about half an hour later he was still traumatized. He came right over to me and first thing he said was "My eye hurts" and then told me the whole story. He continued to say that it hurt all night, and was clingy and kept asking for hugs, which is very unusual for him. The eye looked fine though, not even red or anything, so I think it was more the psychological trauma of it all. This morning he was fine and didn't mention it once.

Last night I was standing in front of the mirror trying to take some pictures of my belly, and Isaac was none too pleased with the sight of my big round white exposed belly. ;) He said several times, "Mama have to close her belly!" (meaning cover it up) and refused to be coaxed into the photo. ;) (Unfortunately none of the pictures came out. My camera just sucks when trying to take a picture of the mirror. I think it doesn't like me turning off the auto-flash.)

My $400 from the flexible spending account still hasn't appeared in my bank account, so I guess it's probably not going to be today. This is discouraging. I'll have to charge the groceries on my credit card tomorrow, and I hate doing that. Sigh. I called the electric company and told them I will be paying them on Wednesday when I get paid. The amount that I owe them is a lot more than I thought it would be -- about $350. I guess it's not unreasonable since I haven't paid it in several months. Please don't lecture me about how I shouldn't let these things go for several months. I am not an idiot. I know that. Honestly the electric bill is the only one I'm that bad about, and there is no valid reason for that, it just is.

Ah well. TGIF....

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:15 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios