finales

May. 22nd, 2002 10:38 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Everyone's posting on the "Buffy" and "Smallville" season finales, and it makes me tired. I just mean, because there's so much to read and respond to, and I probably won't actually respond cuz it's just too damn much.

And I'm too lazy to cut away so I'll sum up my responses in a non-spoilery way:

* I wasn't as blown away by "Buffy" because I had been spoiled on a couple of key plot points. I'm actually pretty pissed off about this, especially since one of the spoilers came in an email from a TOTAL STRANGER! WTF is a total stranger doing emailing me spoilers?!?! I sent her a nasty-gram, you can be sure of that.

* I still enjoyed "Buffy" though. Loved Clem, loved Dawn, loved Anya. Loved [returning character which might count as a spoiler if I gave the name]. The ending was really nice (although the final Spike plot point was the main one I'd been spoiled on). I did feel like the episode could have fit into one hour, though. Like this year's season premiere, "Bargaining," it felt like someone had decided it would be a ratings grab to do a two-hour thing, so they padded it out with some unnecessary stuff, made the fight scenes longer than they needed to be, etc.

* At the end of the "Smallville" episode the first thought I had was, someone should force the "Angel" writers to watch this and then at the end say to them, "see, now THAT is how you write a cliffhanger!" Cuz, uh, wow.

Okay, okay. Of course I lied. I am gonna cut away after all, just for one spoilery "Buffy" comment.

I don't get why people are going around saying "Wow, I was so surprised that Spike was asking for his soul back." To me, it's fairly obvious that's not what happened. Spike was asking to get the chip removed. But he phrased his request poorly, so instead he got his soul back and is going to be pretty pissed. The moral of the story is, when making a wish, NEVER say "so [someone] will get what she deserves." The wish-granting demon probably has a different idea of what Buffy deserves than you do. ;) (Incautious wishing has been kind of a sub-theme this season, hasn't it?)

Anyway, that is all. Except for the snark in my next post.

Date: 2002-05-22 08:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jrosehale.livejournal.com
Yeah, to me it was clear Spike wanted the chip out, and that he phrased it badly. In fact, I said to Robowen last night that it was so obvious what was going to happen simply because both Spike and the demon kept referring to making Spike "what he once was," which was an awkward turn of phrase.

Mmm. Smallville. I'm so watching that mother again. What a great finale.

Date: 2002-05-22 08:13 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
both Spike and the demon kept referring to making Spike "what he once was," which was an awkward turn of phrase.

Yeah, exactly -- the first time I heard that, in last week's episode, I immediately saw how the whole thing would play out.

But when you think about it, being a souled vampire isn't "how Spike once was" ever in his existence. So is he actually going to be human now? I doubt it, but it's food for thought.

Hmm, I need a Spike icon.

Date: 2002-05-22 08:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jrosehale.livejournal.com
But when you think about it, being a souled vampire isn't "how Spike once was" ever in his existence.

True, true. That's why it would have been more effective to make him human again (in my mind, anyway). Of course, either way, it's all been done, to quote the Barenaked Ladies. Now Spike is like Angel, a vampire with a soul, as opposed to being like Darla, a former vampire remade as human. I'm mildly intrigued, but only mildly, since we saw Darla's whole arc at the beginning of the year ...

Date: 2002-05-22 02:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] munoz.livejournal.com
Damnit, I missed Smallville. I was too engrossed in Buffy. (I thought it was excellent but that's because it pushed all the right buttons for me; I can see how some would find it less than stellar.) Hopefully Smallville will be repeated prior to the beginning of next season...

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios