mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Well, I survived the 3-hour glucose tolerance test. It wasn't as bad as I had feared; mostly just boring. The beverage itself was horrible, of course, but at least that part was over quickly.

First, they took my blood, and we waited while they sent it to the lab. That's because if my fasting levels were too high, they would just fail me and not make me go through the whole 3-hour ordeal. But that didn't happen, so they gave me the drink, and then they just told me to sit in the waiting room and come back in an hour. So I sat around watching other patients come and go; read a little, did a sudoku, walked around a little. Then I went into the back and they took my blood again. Back to the waiting room for another hour, then another blood draw, another hour, another blood draw, and done!

I felt a little nauseated after drinking the glucose beverage (who wouldn't? did I mention that stuff is NASTY?) and it certainly woke up Cosmo. Then I spent some time obsessing over the fact that I wasn't even allowed to drink water to wash the taste out of my mouth, and obsessing over how thirsty I was. But other than that, I was fine. As soon as the last blood draw was done, I ate some of my peanut-butter sandwich and decided I felt well enough to drive home. So I did, and had my breakfast tea-and-bagel at noon. And here we are! I haven't felt nearly as awful as I expected to, based on what some other people had told me. I guess that's probably a good sign, if it means my body has handled the whole thing well. I don't know. I feel tired and hungry now, but not all shaky/weak/dizzy as I had feared I would.

So now here it is 2:00. I'll probably leave around 4:30 to pick up Isaac from daycare. (Just talked to mom and she said the morning went fine. It sounds like Isaac slept like a log and was perfectly cheery this morning.) So that gives me another 2 and a half hours to stuff my face with food ;) and shower and relax and so forth. Whee.

They said I could call for the results "at the end of the day," whatever that means, so stay tuned and think good thoughts!

Date: 2006-01-31 07:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mishaslair.livejournal.com
Sending {{{{{good vibes}}}}} for the results of your test.

Date: 2006-01-31 08:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hopemcg.livejournal.com
Fingers crossed for you!

Date: 2006-02-01 12:52 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jrosehale.livejournal.com
I'm hoping for the best!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:21 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios