mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
That's about the best I can say for it: I survived it. None of the people I had called to babysit ended up being able to babysit (as expected since I called pretty last-minute). So, the only breaks I got were when Isaac was sleeping. sigh.

On Sunday, I did get [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd to be in charge for a little while during naptime, while I went to the library. That wasn't much of a break, but it was something. At least it kept me from napping while Isaac was napping, which I sorely wanted to do, but I really oughtn't. I napped while Isaac was napping on Saturday, and look how that turned out: I stayed up till 2am that night. Augh!

On the plus side, Isaac was pretty good most of the time. He played by himself a whole lot on Saturday while I zoned out. We went grocery shopping and he had a good time (he loves grocery shopping -- all those aisles up and down which to run). Sunday, we spent most of it at grandma's house, and Isaac had great difficulty grasping the concept that grandma wasn't at her house. I explained it to him repeatedly before we went over, and he still asked for her several times after we got there. When he woke up from his nap, he asked for grandma. I said she wasn't there, so he asked for Uncle [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic. LOL! I said, "sorry, all you get is your boring old mama." What am I, chopped tofu? ;)

I had a bit of difficulty getting him to nap at grandma's house, until I realized that he wanted me to rock him in the rocking chair while singing to him, like grandma does -- as opposed to lying down on the bed with him while singing. That was tricky, because I had difficulty breathing while sitting in the rocking chair with 30 pounds of toddler on my chest and 20 pounds of fetus compressing my lungs and diaphragm upward. And it's hard to sing when you can't breathe. So it's a good thing he went to sleep pretty fast that way.

On the other plus side, I somehow got a lot of reading done this weekend too. I read two Kinky Friedman mysteries (mind candy) and finished Fire Logic by Laurie Marks, which is excellent and everyone should read it. Remember the bit above about how I stayed up till 2am Saturday night/Sunday morning? Because I had to finish the darn book. It's a curse. ;) I liked it so much I had to go straight to the library and get the sequel.

The Cambridge library is currently undergoing renovations, so the books and library functions have temporarily relocated to a different building. It just happens to be the building I went to school in for 6th, 7th, and 8th grades (that's approx. ages 12-14 for you non-USAdian types). That was pretty weird. And as if the whole "my old school is now a library" thing wasn't weird enough, some guy accosted me inside the halls thereof and (as near as I could tell) wanted me to help him find a book. About X? Or something? I couldn't understand what he was saying and I didn't really want to. I told him to go away and ask a fucking librarian, you moron. But not in those words, 'cause he was scary.

In other news, I totally hate both [livejournal.com profile] shelbecat and [livejournal.com profile] cheryln for alerting me to the fact that that intelligence test from last week has a second part. Augh!!! For the record, I'm at 32/33 on Part 1 and 12/24 on Part 2. EVIL I tell you, EVIL!!!!

that's it! that was the book!

Date: 2006-01-30 04:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lightningrose.livejournal.com
which is now ordered from my library, for when I have finished a stir of bones...

Re: that's it! that was the book!

Date: 2006-01-30 05:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Yeah, you know, as I was finishing it this weekend, it did occur to me that probably this was the book you meant when you asked me last week. Because it's more likely that I mentioned this one recently in my LJ.

You should still read Women on Fire too though!

Date: 2006-01-30 05:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] chaosvizier.livejournal.com
Goddammit. NO MORE INTELLIGENCE TESTS FOR YOU!

Date: 2006-01-31 12:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
OMFG Hans. I think I figured out 17 S in a H P and you are SO going to kick yourself. OMG.

Date: 2006-01-30 11:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mishaslair.livejournal.com
Part 2 is the epitome of evil. Oh, look. I just won $1.5 million in the Hungarian lottery!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios