mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
This morning I woke up and looked out the window to see big heavy wet snowflakes coming down thick and fast. I thought several bad words to myself, fearing that it would be a repeat of Monday. But fortunately, it turned out not so much. I got up and checked the Weather Channel and the online forecast, learned that it was supposed to only snow a little bit and turn to rain, looked out the window again and indeed it didn't look as bad as it had at first glance. By the time Isaac got up and we both got dressed, it had basically stopped snowing and you could see that it was nothing major. So off we went.

Every time I put Isaac in the car when there's snow on the windshield, he has to point out that he "can't see" and "we hafta brush the snow off the car." Today, after I had finished brushing it off, as I got into the car, he said: "I can see! Mama did a good job." Ahh, sweet validation. ;)

The sleeping thing was a little better last night. Isaac coughed a fair amount in the first couple of hours after going down to sleep, so I spent a while lying awake in bed listening to him cough and wondering whether I should do anything, but eventually either he stopped coughing or I fell asleep anyway. ;) Then I woke up at 4:30 to pee, got a nosebleed, spent a while lying awake in bed wondering if it was safe to fall asleep or whether I would choke to death on my own blood in the night, and finally fell asleep again. ;) And I did not choke to death on my own blood, which is always a nice way to start one's day. Not choking, I mean.

There is a van that has been parked on our street, where I usually park, for several days now. It has not moved, at least since Sunday. It still has Monday's snow on it and now some from today too. It also has several parking tickets, which makes me wonder whether one of the neighbors has called the cops about it (as I've contemplated doing), because our street is not permit-parking-only and thus the van is allowed to park there. I'm not sure whether there's actually a law about leaving a vehicle in the same parking space for days on end, but there should be, dammit. This van has been making the parking situation very difficult for me the last few days; twice we've had to park several blocks away, and I know that isn't really much, but it IS much when you're seven months pregnant and you have a toddler and the ground is covered with snow and slush and it's past bedtime.

Anyway, the van is just marked "HVAC Heating Ventilation and Air Conditioning" and an 800-number which is partially worn off. This morning I tried to make out what the missing numbers were, and dialed what I thought it was, and got what appeared to be a phone-sex line. At least, I heard some recorded woman blather on about the best in telephone entertainment, or something like that, and then I hung up to put Isaac in the car. I tried the number again just now and got a busy signal.

I think I shall call the police, in my copious spare time, and at least ask if there's anything they can do or what it would take to get the damn thing towed. 'Cause now this is going to start pissing me off. And I am not afraid to play the pregnant single mother with toddler card if that's what it takes to get my damn parking space back, dammit.
EDIT: Checked the city's website and indeed it tells me that any vehicle occupying the same parking space for 48 hours is "subject to ticket and tow." Oh, obnoxious van, you are so busted.

Date: 2006-01-25 05:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] woobiewoobster.livejournal.com
"I can see! Mama did a good job." Ahh, sweet validation. ;)


Oh man that's tooooo cute! hahahahahahaa

Date: 2006-01-25 09:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pekmez.livejournal.com
On the other hand, I was just reading in the Somerville Journal Online that apparently parking tickets are the city's new moneymaking scheme - meters give you 15 minutes for a quarter, and then are aggressively ticketed; a new type of permit is required for all contractors, including on streets that do not otherwise have residential parking requirements (and some guy was ticketed for this, with no signage, no notification about the new policy, and before he had made it over to ring his customers' doorbell). I also get the impression that in a permit parking street, if your friend
was in the same situation and got a ticket before they made it to your doorbell and came right back out with the permit they would also no longer be
excused from the ticket...

I think contractors deserve to follow all the normal rules (they used to be able to just beg off
of permit only violations and the like), but why should my plumber coming to my house in a van
labeled "plumber" be in any different situation from my plumber coming to my house in his private car? he's coming to my house, I can give him a visitor permit, or not and he can face getting a ticket. I'm a little concerned because I can kind of imagine contractors just deciding they don't want to work in somerville anymore, over cost and hassle (the permit requires a *monthly* renewal at the parking office.) http://www.townonline.com/somerville/localRegional/view.bg?articleid=411634

Date: 2006-01-25 11:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Well, I don't know about the contractor permit or any of the other stuff you mentioned. I certainly think it would be nuts if my friend got a ticket in the time it took him/her to come up to my door and get the permit! Actually, a while back, a guy rang my bell collecting signatures for a petition to get our street converted to permit parking. I signed it, but I never heard what happened with it. When there's snow, it becomes particularly troublesome trying to park around here (I posted about this extensively last winter!) although MOST of the time I can find a spot.

This van just annoyed me somehow because it was so obviously taking advantage. I mean, maybe the first day or two it was a contractor doing some work, but after four days without moving or even having the snow cleared off it, not so much. But it's gone now! So whatever.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:38 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios