pissy

Jan. 20th, 2006 10:13 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (spike)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Maybe I'm just in a bad mood this morning, but here are three things that are pissing me off:

1. (the frivolous) Someone in a parenting community asking whether she can claim her baby, who was born last September, on her taxes. I honestly cannot believe that anyone is that stupid.

2. (the inconvenient) I can go for months on end without wanting or needing to use the Livejournal "memories" feature. Then all of a sudden I do have a major need for it, twice in two days, and what do I get? "Sorry, the memories feature is temporarily unavailable." Fuck you very much, LJ.

3. (the socially relevant) In this time of increasing strife in our world, where American and Iraqi lives are being lost every day for no good reason, where the feds can lock you up in a mental institution just because you happen to know how to build bombs, where more than 50% of kids graduating college in America lack basic math and literacy skills such as how to balance a checkbook, where countless children and adults are languishing in horrendous poverty and despair ... in this time of strife and desperation for so many people in our world, am I really expected to feel sympathy for Reese Witherspoon because she found out that the dress she wore to the Golden Globes had been previously worn by someone else to another awards show???

Seriously, I'm supposed to give a flying fuck that poor little Reese had to accept her Golden Globe award in a dress that had been seen before? What the FUCK, people? For the amount of money that dress probably cost, how many starving children could be fed? How many downtrodden women in Africa could be prevented from contracting HIV if that money were dedicated instead to educating them and giving them condoms and getting them out of abusive situations or off the streets? How many New Orleans residents could rebuild their homes and their lives for that kind of money? But no, I'm not supposed to give a crap about those starving children, those AIDS-ridden prostitutes, those homeless flood victims. Instead I'm supposed to feel all sorry for Reese fucking Witherspoon because her dress wasn't "vintage."

FUCK THAT.

Okay, remember at the beginning of this post when I said "maybe I'm in a bad mood this morning"? Uh, yeah, let's go back and strike out the "maybe" part, shall we?

Date: 2006-01-20 03:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lbmango.livejournal.com
Instead I'm supposed to feel all sorry for Reese fucking Witherspoon because her dress wasn't "vintage."

Just to be nit-picky: If someone else wore it before, it probably WAS vintage...

Date: 2006-01-20 03:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Well, if you read the article, it goes into this whole thing about what "vintage" really means and does the dress still count as vintage by today's fashion standards, etc. blah blah, which is why I put it in quotes because seriously, who gives a shit?

Date: 2006-01-20 03:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lbmango.livejournal.com
Ok, so basically, they have taken a perfectly useful word "vintage" and co-opted it to mean somethnig completely different.

Lovely.

Date: 2006-01-20 03:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] edie22.livejournal.com
Whenever LJ gives me that error on memories, I just hit refresh. It almost always just goes right to the memories feature. They're just stupid sometimes.

Date: 2006-01-20 03:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] chaosvizier.livejournal.com
I despise Reese Witherspoon. This incident just adds to my hate, although truly, I would despise anybody who did this. "OH NOES SOMEONE BOGARTED MY $34297512 DRESS WAAAAAAAH!"

But even more telling is that precious time and paper and energy is wasted reporting this fact to the world, because something thinks that it is REALLY IMPORTANT that we know this. How in the world does this qualify as "news"? Why is this important to anyone? Again, time and money wasted reporting this fascinating tidbit of information could have gone to reporting something worthwhile, or researching something useful, or just given to something charitable.

Bah. Celebrities.

Date: 2006-01-20 03:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
My point EXACTLY. I'm actually pretty much ambivalent on Reese Witherspoon -- I can take her or leave her -- but it's more the whole, "let's spend a whole lot of time and energy reporting on this, and ignore the REAL news going on in the world" thing that irks me.

Date: 2006-01-20 06:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rainbow-goddess.livejournal.com
If you get the message that the memories feature is unavailable, go back and try again. It usually works the second time -- unless you've already tried that and it doesn't work, in which case I have no idea what to suggest, and I'd be pretty annoyed too.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:55 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios