Angel

May. 20th, 2002 10:41 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
The "Angel" season finale. Oh my god. Could that possibly have sucked any more? I think not.

[livejournal.com profile] musesfool said it best when she said: LAME.

We can only hope that the Buffy finale is better.

Joss, where the fuck are you? Forget "Firefly." Your other series NEED you. In a serious way.

Date: 2002-05-21 12:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jrosehale.livejournal.com
Angel definitely is ... faltering. But the thing is, it never really was a *great* show. It had some good moments (I will always love Lindsey and his Evil Hand issues), but ... I don't know. I feel like I'm sort of nostalgic for a quality that the show never had. Does that make sense?

The baby thing sucked all kinds of ass this season. The character interactions seemed ... off. Fred + Gunn = Boredom (which sucks, 'cause I like Gunn still). It just ... It was just messy and stupid and kind of boring.

What specifically did you hate about the finale? And did you feel like the rest of the season was good? 'Cause I'm curious.

Date: 2002-05-21 01:17 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
I feel like I'm sort of nostalgic for a quality that the show never had. Does that make sense?

Perfect sense, and I agree. "Angel" has had a lot of really excellent episodes, and even sequences of episodes, but it hasn't been consistent enough that you would say "it's been a really excellent show."

The baby thing sucked all kinds of ass this season.

Agree 100%.

Fred + Gunn = Boredom (which sucks, 'cause I like Gunn still).

Yeah. I even like Fred too, and their getting together was interesting 'cause I was sure she was going to go with Wes, but since then it's been boring.

What specifically did you hate about the finale? And did you feel like the rest of the season was good?

I could go on and on, but I gotta get back to work so bullet points:
a) Connor not knowing the difference between bite marks and puncture wounds. Lame.
b) The whole "transitioning to a higher plane of existence" thing. It's been done a zillion times, and always poorly. Lame lame.
c) Expecting me to believe that Connor believes Angel will just sit there in the box for all eternity. Lame lame lame.
d) Lorne leaving :(

As for the rest of the season being good. No, I wouldn't say that. The descent of Wesley has almost been interesting but it hasn't *gone* anywhere so even that can't qualify. The Cordy/Angel thing was completely botched, and even Groo was handled all wrong -- I totally hated him all along, then suddenly started liking him in the last two eps, but by then it was too late.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios