mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
We did go to vote last night on the way home. As usual Isaac charmed everyone. Then we went home and later when I was talking to my mom on the phone, Isaac came over and said "can I tell gramma how I voted?" (he is just learning to say "can I" instead of "I wanna") so I put him on the phone and he told gramma all about how we went to the voting place and he helped put the paper (ballot) in the machine, "and now we're home and playing with my trains!" It was too cute. It was the first time he's really held a conversation on the phone; he loves to use it, but usually gets shy and won't say anything other than monosyllables. So that was cool.

For the second night in a row Isaac lost interest in "Thomas the Tank Engine" halfway through the episode! He just walked away and came to find me in the other room. I asked him if we should turn Thomas off and he said yes. My goodness. I'm going to have to re-adjust to not getting that guaranteed half-hour to myself in the evenings. ;)

This morning we had a plumber over to look at the leak in our basement and a few other things. It turns out that the leak (which steadily though slowly drips water onto the basement floor from a pipe) originates in my toilet, or more accurately in the water line leading into my toilet. It needs to be replaced, which the plumber said would be a quick and easy job, so hopefully he'll be able to come over and do it soon. Brian also wants the plumber to do a couple of things upstairs.

I was pretty amazed that Isaac slept through the whole thing -- me and Brian and the plumber tromping up and down the stairs several times, plus we spent some time standing and talking in the part of the basement that's directly underneath Isaac's bedroom. I know from experience that when you're in Isaac's room and someone is in that part of the basement talking, you can hear them quite clearly, so I was surprised that it didn't wake him up. He woke up after the plumber had gone and while I was discussing it all with Brian.

This morning I wore my new winter coat that I got at Dollar-A-Pound. It fits well and all that (it's nice to be able to zip it up without feeling like I'm squishing Cosmo, like I do lately with my other one) but it still has a very strong "someone else's body" smell, which is kinda unpleasant. And yes, I did launder it before wearing! Any ideas on how to get rid of the smell would be welcome.

I got my new credit card in the mail (just a replacement for the one that expired this month) and it's a whole different color scheme. This is going to take some getting used to.

Date: 2006-01-11 06:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nonethewiser.livejournal.com
They say spraying things with vodka can take out all manner of smells... but you might also try dilute vinegar or maybe packing it in something with deactivated charcoal...

Date: 2006-01-11 09:07 pm (UTC)
azurelunatic: Vivid pink Alaskan wild rose. (Default)
From: [personal profile] azurelunatic
Replace it with a stronger, more pleasant smell? Hang it up with the most violently scented of the scented things you have that you can stand in. Perhaps dampening and drying with dryer sheets, if you have scented ones? Perhaps stick it in a low-air-circulation box with a cotton ball dampened in essential oil? Put it in front of a heating vent with a scented thing in front of the heating vent?

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios