mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
(I am tired today because I was up way too late last night. A woman on an internet board that I belong to was in labor, and I was her designated person to call when the baby arrived, so I could post the news to the board. She called yesterday around 3pm to say she was in labor, but by evening I hadn't heard back again. I had decided that I would give it till midnight and then go to bed, keeping the phone by my bedside and leaving the computer on in case she called in the middle of the night; and she called at about five minutes before midnight. Then I stayed up a while longer because I was so excited. :) Yay for babies! But now I'm way tired from staying up so late. Ah well.)

The truly shocking thing that happened last night was that Isaac lost interest in the middle of watching Thomas the Tank Engine. Gasp! ;) Well, he was watching it, and I went down to the basement to put a load of the thrift stuff from the other day into the washer, and when I came back up, Isaac got interested in what I was doing. He actually abandoned Thomas to come and ask to look at the computer.

The above-mentioned internet board has a scrolling banner at the top -- words scroll by continuously, giving news about board happenings, birthdays, and so forth. Isaac has become fascinated with this. Many times a day he says "Isaac wanna watch the letters go by me." He will literally just stand there and watch them go by. As each one scrolls by, he says, "After this one goes by me then there will be another one." And I say, yes there will. And he watches it go by. Repeat. :) This is a lot more tolerable for me since I realized that I can open another browser window, resize it so that the first one (with the scrolling banner) can still be seen in the background, and do my browsing in the smaller window while Isaac is staring mesmerized at the banner.

It's all part of his exploding interest in letters and words lately. He is able to recognize and identify several letters wherever he sees them, and knows some words that start with them (e.g. "M is for mama"), and constantly points to letters saying "what's this?" and wants to know what letter it is and what word it is, and so forth. When we read books to him, he loves to pause the story and hunt over the page for the letter I (his favorite letter, of course) and point in triumph and say "There's the letter I!" He is definitely getting more interested by the day. My mom says we'll have him reading by age 3 just like I was. :)

Anyway, I don't know whether yesterday's event really means that he's losing interest in Thomas -- up until yesterday he wouldn't hear of doing ANYTHING when we got home other than going straight to the TV -- but we'll see. It may just be that he's lost interest in that particular episode. Thomas isn't on that often, so I tend to TiVo all the episodes and then show him the same ones repeatedly until a new one airs.

In other news, this morning I made a rudimentary smoothie. I just tossed some strawberry yogurt, chocolate soymilk, and a few ice cubes in the blender. It was pretty good (Isaac liked it too) but needed something else. I may try to find some flax seed, whatever the hell that is, or wheat germ to add. I have decided that I need to start eating something in the mornings before we leave the house, because I've reached that point in the pregnancy where not eating my breakfast until I get to the office (which could be as much as two hours after I wake up) isn't going to work any more. This works fine for me normally, but pregnancy isn't normally and I'm hungry all the time lately, and the last few workdays I've been almost ready to keel over from hunger by the time I got to the office and had my bagel. So, I need something quick and easy for the mornings, and I'm thinking smoothies might fit the bill. Isaac doesn't like the noise of the blender, but hopefully he'll get used to it.

(All that is complicated by the fact that my thyroid medication, which I take immediately upon waking, says "take on an empty stomach 1 hour before eating." But from the research I've been doing, it sounds like not everyone agrees on that point, and I'm probably going to err on the side of "pregnant, must eat" and assume that my thyroid will just have to cope somehow.)

In other other news, I didn't make it to the polls this morning so hopefully I'll manage to go tonight on the way home. I think they're open till 8 so we should be okay.

And now, lunch.

Date: 2006-01-10 05:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kenboy.livejournal.com
I'm glad I'm not the only one using Tivo for this sort of thing.

We Tivo all of Nathaniel's Noggin favorites (and as of yesterday, Sesame Street, as well, which he's calling "Ernie and Bert"). When we're about ready for him to go to bed, he asks if he can watch his shows, and he usually gets two or three, depending on how close it is to bedtime.

Date: 2006-01-10 05:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kenboy.livejournal.com
Oh, and forgot to mention; I have season passes set up for all his shows, and they're all set to keep just the most recent episode, except for his favorites (Dora and Blues Clues) which both are set to keep two at a time.

Date: 2006-01-10 05:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
I try to keep a few Thomas episodes on the TiVo, because he consistently wants to watch it every day, and it's only on once a week, and although he seems happy to watch the same episode repeatedly, I don't think he wants to watch it six nights in a row. heh.

Date: 2006-01-10 05:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Oh, and the other thing -- although TiVo is great for this kind of thing, it's also creating a kid who totally doesn't understand the concept of a show only being on at certain times. Which I guess is both good and bad? He asks for Thomas sometimes at grandma's house, and I just say, "we don't have Thomas on grandma's TV," and that placates him. For now. I don't think that will last. ;)

Date: 2006-01-10 06:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mogwar.livejournal.com
Mine is eight, and still frequently forgets that one cannot just "pause" the TV at other people's houses. Heh.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios