long time no update
Jan. 9th, 2006 11:26 amWhew, it was a crazy weekend hanging out with
metafrantic and
sandykidd. Hopefully things will calm down a bit once the novelty of having them around wears off. ;)
Friday night, Isaac and I went over to mom's place and we all ordered in Thai and just hung out. Of course, by the time we got there and everyone decided what they wanted and we ordered and waited for the delivery and ate, it was way past bedtime and Isaac got to bed super-late. Consequently, we had trouble getting going Saturday morning, so we ended up changing all our plans and just hung out for the morning. After Isaac's nap, mom went swimming and
metafrantic and
sandykidd got their first taste of what riding the bus with Isaac is like. ;) They took him on an excursion to get a few groceries for dinner, so I had an hour or so to myself at mom's place, which was weird and unexpected. I didn't know what to do with myself. :) I ended up doing a few sudokus on mom's computer and then spent the rest of the time reading. Everyone came home, we cooked dinner and ate and again got to bed late.
Sunday morning, we all went grocery shopping together, which was an adventure and a half. We ended up spending over $200 between the lot of us, and that's AFTER using our "$10 off $100" and "$8 off $80" coupons. Whew!
Then Isaac and I rushed off to the birthday party for
anotherjen's Ilana, which was a fun party but unfortunately we couldn't stay long as it was Isaac's naptime. We did stay for cake (Isaac insisted ;) ) and it was amusing. Ilana was allowed to be in charge of putting the candles on the cake, and apparently no one had conveyed to her the concept that the number of candles on your birthday cake represents your age. So she put the whole box on, and many jokes ensued from the adults along the lines of how very youthful-looking Ilana is for a 20-year-old. ;)
Then we went home, and it was a struggle getting Isaac to nap but eventually he went down around 3:30, and around 4:45 I started trying to wake him up. Which was just awful and he cried and cried and I felt horrible. :( But finally after sitting and snuggling him for a while, I decided to just get moving on the theory that he would cheer up faster if we were doing something than if we just sat around coddling him. And I was right. I hurried him into his shoes and coat and we got in the car and he perked right up.
We met mom and
metafrantic and
sandykidd at Dollar-A-Pound, a thrift-store type place where they just toss everything on the floor and you paw through it and anything you find is, well, actually $1.50 a pound (they changed it recently) but apparently they didn't change the name, perhaps because "Buck-Fifty-A-Pound" doesn't have the same ring. Anyway, since
metafrantic and
sandykidd just moved here from Arizona, they don't have much in the way of winter clothing, so they got some sweaters and jackets and stuff. You can find some REALLY good stuff at Dollar-A-Pound if you have the patience to dig through it all. I found some good stuff for Isaac, and for me too, including a coat that I think will be a good replacement for my beloved winter coat which, unfortunately, is getting extremely difficult to zip up over my expanding belly. This makes me sad, because I love my winter coat (an Abercrombie&Fitch woolen coat which I got for like $30 at a thrift shop back in the late 90s), but I know I'll be able to wear it again someday, and the new one should serve in the interim. Meanwhile, Isaac had a blast climbing and tumbling around on the piles of clothing. In the end we spent about $60 at Dollar-A-Pound, which is super-cheap considering how much GREAT stuff we got. We need to launder it all before using, of course, but then we should be good to go.
Then we went back to grandma's house again and had dinner again and etc. and then home and bed. And now it's Monday and we're back at daycare and work. Whee.
*falls asleep on desk*
Friday night, Isaac and I went over to mom's place and we all ordered in Thai and just hung out. Of course, by the time we got there and everyone decided what they wanted and we ordered and waited for the delivery and ate, it was way past bedtime and Isaac got to bed super-late. Consequently, we had trouble getting going Saturday morning, so we ended up changing all our plans and just hung out for the morning. After Isaac's nap, mom went swimming and
Sunday morning, we all went grocery shopping together, which was an adventure and a half. We ended up spending over $200 between the lot of us, and that's AFTER using our "$10 off $100" and "$8 off $80" coupons. Whew!
Then Isaac and I rushed off to the birthday party for
Then we went home, and it was a struggle getting Isaac to nap but eventually he went down around 3:30, and around 4:45 I started trying to wake him up. Which was just awful and he cried and cried and I felt horrible. :( But finally after sitting and snuggling him for a while, I decided to just get moving on the theory that he would cheer up faster if we were doing something than if we just sat around coddling him. And I was right. I hurried him into his shoes and coat and we got in the car and he perked right up.
We met mom and
Then we went back to grandma's house again and had dinner again and etc. and then home and bed. And now it's Monday and we're back at daycare and work. Whee.
*falls asleep on desk*