mamajoan: me in hammock (yay!)
[personal profile] mamajoan
OMG. I am so totally weepy after looking at the pictures of [livejournal.com profile] tiggrrl and [livejournal.com profile] the_misha with their new baby. Snif snif! WHAT?! Why are you looking at me like that? Hormonal? What makes you say that?

ANYway, my ultrasound this morning went great. (Although I totally miscalculated the timing and, in my effort to not be late, ended up being way ridiculously early. So I popped into the nearby library branch to get a couple of books to read, rather than have to spend 45 minutes in the ultrasound waiting room with naught but some six-month-old copies of "People" to occupy me.) I am officially off the hook for "incompetent cervix" and don't have to have any more ultrasounds! YAY. And the perinatologist said that he thinks my chances of going full-term are excellent. He actually said, after looking at the scans and the numbers on my cervical measurement, "why are we evaluating you, again?" while frowning and scratching his head over my chart. After being reminded that I had a preemie last time, he went, "oh yeah..." and scratched his head some more. I take that as a good sign. *g*

My cervix was actually longer this time than it was 4 weeks ago, although only by about half a centimeter, which doesn't mean much (could be the angle of measurement, or who knows what). Cosmo is doing great. All the measurements they took (cranial circumference, length of femur, abdominal area, etc.) were right on target for his/her age. S/he supposedly weighs two and a half pounds now, although ultrasound weight measurements are often wildly inaccurate so that doesn't mean much, but whatever.

We had a funny moment right at the beginning when the ultrasound tech said "do you know the sex?" me: "no" her: "don't want to know?" me: "no, don't want to know" and then she VERY quickly moved the probe over to a different area. ;) Well, if there was anything on the screen that I shouldn't have seen, I didn't see it, or didn't recognize it, so I am still clueless, just the way I like it. :)

I couldn't see most of the ultrasound too well anyway, because their secondary monitor was broken so I had to crane my neck to see the tech's screen, which was at a bad angle for me, which is exactly why they usually have a second one. But I did see the important stuff, like the beating heart and the parts of the brain and the spine and all the movement (not that I really need to SEE the movement at this point). The tech gave me a couple of printouts of some good shots, including one cute one where you can quite clearly see the fingers next to the face. I'll try to scan them this weekend if I get a chance.

And then afterward I drove back to work and made ridiculously good time and was here in plenty of time for our free Friday lunch. So, long story short, it's all good. ;) Yay.

In other news, my brother and sister-in-law arrived safely last night. They had planned to stop off in NY State last night and get here today, but by 6:30pm they were already at the MA border so they just decided to keep going. So, they're here and tonight Isaac and I will go over to mom's place to have dinner with them and catch up a bit. Whee! Life is going to get pretty interesting....

Date: 2006-01-06 07:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hopemcg.livejournal.com
Great news!!

Date: 2006-01-06 10:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aelf.livejournal.com
I am so glad you're on track to an uneventuful delivery! :)

So, are you interpretting the tech's want-to-know-the-sex behavior, or are you not paying it any mind? I can't imagine not wanting to know (ok, well, I don't HAVE to imagine since here you are in front of me :) ) so I have _no_ idea if it's something you dwell on. :)

Date: 2006-01-07 12:49 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ladyvyola.livejournal.com
So glad that you're competent this go-around! Go, you and Cosmo!

Date: 2006-01-07 01:00 am (UTC)
ext_170: (Rose)
From: [identity profile] thedivinegoat.livejournal.com
And the perinatologist said that he thinks my chances of going full-term are excellent.

That is brilliant news. I'm so happy for you.

I see the consultant for the first time next week, which is going to be weird, because as it's my third pregnancy, I feel that I should know most of the answers already, but being pregnant with twins is a bit like being pregnant for the first time again. (Plus we've go the higher risk of prem labour which is something I wasn't at all worried about with Owen being 5 days over, and Cullyn being 1 week over, but am now getting a bit parinoid about).

Anyway, glad Cosmo's doing so well, (and you as well).

Date: 2006-01-07 01:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tiggrrl.livejournal.com
Glad you had a good check up, we had our first annoy-the-baby pediatric appointment today, and it went well.

Date: 2006-01-07 08:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bodacia.livejournal.com
I'm glad everything's going well with Cosmo! *hugs*

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:38 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios