mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I have discovered a whole new dimension of tired. I think it's deserving of a Physics Nobel, or at least a grant of some sort. It's a little like the Bizarro World, only less funny, and with more coughing and fatalism. Really what I think is that I've unwittingly become the subject of someone's experiment in sleep-deprivation research. Yeah, that's it, it's all a conspiracy! I need the above-mentioned grant to do research into what happens when a person gets too MUCH sleep. I wish.

Also, I still have a cold and feel crappy. In case you were wondering.

Saturday I tried to sleep late but woke up around the same time my alarm usually goes off on a work day. Which, I must say, is an abomination in my sight, a wrongness the same magnitude as New Coke, Clear Pepsi, or caffeinated water. So I went back to sleep.

And I actually ended up vegging out for all of Saturday, which was really nice. The Sox game was delayed a couple hours by rain, so I waited till it started, and then I watched it, and then I caught up on some TV (one "24", two "West Wings," and four or so "Daily Shows," also "Friends" and a couple of "ERs"). And got to bed at a fairly reasonable hour.

Sunday I got up, showered, gathered my stuff, and went over to mom's in preparation for the big concert. We got to watch the entire Sox game before we had to leave. Walked over to the pre-concert warmup location, which turned out to be a mistake (the walking, I mean) and I had to lie down for a bit, but then I was okay and we warmed up and rehearsed. Then we went over to the actual concert location, got all ready, etc. and I took some Sudafed and Tylenol.

And then the concert started! It's always a shock, because you're preparing for months on end, and then the pre-concert stuff on the day seems to drag on forever, but all of a sudden you're on stage and you realize, waitaminnit, this is IT!

My first solo went okay. I was still stuffed up and the congestion in my nose kept coming and going in mid-melisma, which was distracting, but I did okay. The second solo (actually a trio with twelve people, heh) went very well. The piece overall went beautifully. I think William (our conductor) was very pleased with it.

Afterward, there was tango'ing onstage, but we weren't allowed to watch it, so we went downstairs and sat around waiting. And blowing our nose repeatedly, in my case. Then we went on for the second piece. It also went quite well, I thought. It's a new piece (this was the North American Premiere) so no one in the audience, except the composer, would have noticed a little mistake here and there anyway. ;) It was *very* well received, and afterward the composer got a huge ovation.

Then the milling around and greeting people, and I was almost positive that I saw someone from the old job, but not entirely sure it was really her. But some people I did know were there, friends of mom, and a great family friend who used to babysit me when I was teeny. We milled around for far too long before *finally* heading off to the restaurant where the post-concert party was happening.

Well. As it turned out, William had told them we would be about thirty people. If I (or half the other choir bigwigs) had known this, we would surely have beaten him with a large stick. Because there was just no way. I mean, the choir itself is about 140 people, and sure, not everyone comes to the party, but those who do come will bring spouses, friends, kids, etc... we were more like 100 than thirty, and the restaurant only had four waitpeople, plus all their other patrons besides us. It was a madhouse and they got almost everything wrong in my order and that of the singers I sat with. But the waitress was very apologetic, and I told her I felt like we should be apologizing to HER, and she did cut us a break on the check and give us free dessert, so we left her a big tip.

Oh. And while we were all eating and circulating through the restaurant to schmooze our fellow singers, I found the above-mentioned "someone from the old job." It turns out that she is good friends with one of the chorus members! I had not realized this, nor had she realized that I was in the chorus. So we chatted and that was cool. Meanwhile I found out that another fellow singer's boss is a guy I went to high school with. It's really much too small a world around here. *g*

And then I had to go home with mom since I had left my stuff there, and I decided I just couldn't face the drive home. I mean, it was one a.m. by the time we got to mom's! So I slept over at her place, and slept very badly, not really because of the unfamiliar bed, mostly because I was so stuffed up sinus-wise, and also still wired from the concert.

Oh, and I must give public props to Siubhan for bopping over and feeding Bini for me this morning since I had to go straight to work from mom's. Poor Bini. I left him all alone almost all day Sunday and now all day today. I'm a bad kitty mommy. I must give him much chin-rubbing tonight.

And that's my exciting weekend report. Stay tuned for the summary of my Ben Affleck dream.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios