mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I have a confession to make. The new "Star Wars" movie opens today, and I don't give a shit.

Can you understand how hard it is for me to say that? I've only been a Star Wars geek since I was a little kid, after all. My brother and I used to recite the movies line-for-line on long car trips -- we had all three of the original trilogy memorized. We had the sheets, the action figures, the paper plates, the comic books, the novelization, the Making Of books and videos. We knew the name of that annoying little creature that sits with Jabba the Hutt and laughs at people. We knew what the Ewoks were really saying when they talked. We even had our own little in-jokes, Rocky-Horror-esque lines we always had to say at certain points during the movies. I wrote a freaking paper for high-school English about the representation of Freudian ideals in the "Star Wars" trilogy, for chrissake.

But after Episode I: Menacing The Fans, er I mean The Phantom Menace, came out, I just lost it all. I mean, I saw TPM ten or twelve times in the theater (that's twenty hours and $75 that I gave to George Lucas and will never get back), but that was mostly because of The Sith Academy, not because the movie was actually any good. I saw it twice on opening day and had a ticket for a third showing but elected not to go because already, even in the excited blush of "first new Star Wars in fifteen years" I could already tell how much it sucked.

And yeah, they say "Attack of the Clones" (*gag*! What a stupid title!) is better than TPM. And I'm not saying I won't see it. Of course I'll see it, this weekend if I feel better, or sometime next week maybe -- whenever I get around to it. But I'm sad to say, the thrill is gone. I can barely even call myself a Star Wars fan any more. Maybe if I restrict it to the original trilogy, okay, but that'll take too much explaining. It's sad that so much of my original excitement, my rabid enthusiasm, my love and respect for George, is gone. It's sad that when I found out we had made plans to go to the Red Sox game on opening night, instead of "Oh no! I'll have to find someone to give my baseball ticket to!" my reaction was "Yeah, so? Go Sox!"

But I guess that's life. Things fall apart, and you can't resurrect a childhood icon twenty years later and expect it to have the same impact. Maybe that's a lesson George should have learned. I dunno. I just know that I look at all the hype and excitement that's swirling around AOTC the past week or so, and I just find myself shrugging and saying, "Who gives a fuck?" And that's sad. Oh well. I'd like to care, but I just don't.

Date: 2002-05-16 10:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tiggrrl.livejournal.com
Dude, I understand and I'm there with you. If someone hadn't actually contacted me to ask if I wanted to go, I probably wouldn't have for a while. I guess I was just really disappointed by Ep I, and I'm not willing to put myself on the line (literally, by staying in line all day and going to see a 12:01 showing) for this one. Now if Ep 2 is better than I fear, I could geek out again for the third installment, but I'm waiting to see.

Date: 2002-05-16 11:26 am (UTC)
azurelunatic: Vivid pink Alaskan wild rose. (Default)
From: [personal profile] azurelunatic
It's a decent movie, if that's any comfort. It helps create hyperactivity in the susceptable. If you've seen the trailers, the bit with the Coruscant traffic is better than advertised, the rather large brawl is also kickass. Drags in the middle. Minimal Binks.

Date: 2002-05-16 08:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] munoz.livejournal.com
The beginning is slow. It picks up. It's vastly superior to TPM. The title, sadly enough, is perfect. For two reasons: it misdirects your attention throughout most of the film, and the title mimics perfectly those Saturday matinee serials from the 1960s which Lucas has always said he was doing with Star Wars. Same with Indiana Jones - hence the title of the second IJ movie. In fact, the one title that doesn't fit is "A New Hope" - it's too subtle. I hated the title at first, then realized it was precisely what was needed, and learned to cope.

Date: 2002-05-17 08:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ide-cyan.livejournal.com
Saw it yesterday. I posted a first impressions review this morning. I'm ambiguous about the movie... I don't really care much anymore. I enjoyed it, mostly, when I was watching it, though I wasn't especially involved by it.

Growing detachment from SW doesn't entirely displease me, if it means I can be rid of an addiction.

Star Wars is dead. Long live Harry Potter and other new fictional universes.

But I was still sweet on Palpatine while watching AotC. :->

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:18 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios