mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
There comes a point in the course of any stomach bug where you still feel crappy, but you also start to feel hungry. And that SUCKS, because you're still queasy, and nervous to try eating anything lest it come right back up again. So it's an awful choice: sit around getting hungrier and hungrier, or risk another round of barfing?

Now imagine dealing with that when you're only two! :(

Isaac barfed again about 2.5 hours after the first time. At that point he only had water and juice in his tummy, but it all came back out. And minutes later he was asking for food. :( I had to tell him no, and he wasn't happy. I distracted him for a while, and eventually broke down and gave him about a third or half a slice of toast, with some water. He wanted more but I said we'd wait and see how that went down. He cried. :(

We've watched the ONE episode of Thomas that we have on the TiVo, about ten times today. *groooan* At least I had the foresight to grab a book so I can tune Thomas out. Finally, Isaac fell asleep on my chest during the umpteenth viewing, so now he's in his crib sleeping. I hope he sleeps a nice long time.

And I myself was nervous to eat, though very hungry! I'm not sick, knock desperately on wood, but I didn't want to tempt it. But we don't have much food anyway so I ended up with a bowl of Corn Chex in milk, and an orange. (upon reflection, given the way dairy and citrus interact, that was kinda dumb, wasn't it? *facepalm*) Now I'm taking a few minutes of computer time because during pregnancy I get queasy if I lie down too soon after eating. But after I digest for a few minutes I'll be lying down and hopefully getting a bit of nap in.

Don't know what we'll do later; it'll depend on Isaac of course. We're getting down to the last couple of diapers, and have very little in the way of mild foods for a sickie, so either way we're gonna have to go out or have someone (i.e. grandma) come bring us some stuff. But we'll just see how we feel after we wake up, whenever that might be.

Date: 2005-11-18 07:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mishaslair.livejournal.com
I don't think this will help with your stomach bug, but since you seem to catch colds a lot, have you heard of a product called Airborne? Someone recommended it to me when I felt a cold coming on last week and it kicked it right out of my system. It was invented by a teacher who kept getting sick from exposure to sick kids and supposedly if you take it as soon as you feel the symptoms coming on, it'll stop you from getting a cold. I don't really know how it works since it's just a combination of vitamins and herbs (it does include ginger for nausea), but within 12 hours of taking it last week I was no longer experiencing cold symptoms. Since there aren't any drugs in it, it may be safe for you during pregnancy, but I'm not sure. Anyway, everyone I know who has heard of it raves about the stuff.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:15 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios