mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Yeah, so my eye seems all better today. I don't know what that was about last night, but I can see again now, so yay.

Yesterday I got my first stranger-comment on my belly (as opposed to comments from people who know me and already know that I'm pregnant). I know that a lot of women see this as a negative milestone, like telling them they look fat or what have you, but it made me happy. I like knowing that it's obvious, and I happen to think my belly is pretty cute (although I'd love for it to be bigger!). Of course, that's only because the comment was friendly and polite. You do hear about people saying some rude shit to pregnant women, but this person, a supermarket checkout lady, wasn't like that. She just asked how I was feeling and how far along and all that. It was nice. I'm also definitely noticing coworkers checking out my belly every time I walk by them in the halls. ;)

In related news, it occurred to me that, although I think my midwife had said that they would re-check my thyroid levels at last week's checkup, they didn't take my blood for it. I'm not sure whether they forgot or I was wrong about that being on the schedule for that day. I'm sure it's probably something that can wait till my next appointment (now three weeks away) but I'll probably call and ask just in case. And that further reminds me, I need to call and make Isaac an appointment in mid-December for his 2.5 checkup. I've waited too long now and they'll probably tell me they're booked through February. *facepalm* I also want to find out how I go about getting a referral for a dermatologist. Isaac has these bumps on his arms, I'm not sure whether to call it a rash since it seems to be permanent. They look like pimples, kind of, I guess. I can't figure out whether I should be worried about it. He only scratches it every now and then, so it clearly doesn't bother him much, but OTOH, it's not normal.

It seems that I'm going to have to start forcibly waking us up earlier. For a while there we were waking naturally, by which I mean Isaac was waking naturally and then waking me, at 7am reliably. That worked out pretty well because it got us to daycare and work at a reasonable hour, even if we dawdled. But then we had a month or two of sleep "issues," which I whined about here at length, and although things have gotten a bit better, now Isaac isn't waking until much later unless I wake him. I've started actually setting my alarm again! But I've been setting it for 8, which means we don't really get up till like 8:15-8:30, which means we leave super late and get to daycare and work late. I don't like getting Isaac to daycare after snacktime, and I don't like getting me to work so late either.

So I'm going to have to start setting the alarm earlier. Sigh. On the plus side, maybe that'll have the side effect of making it easier to get Isaac to sleep earlier at night too. I've been having a lot of trouble getting him down before 10 (ugh!). It's mostly my fault, because I procrastinate on starting bedtime -- but I do that partly because he doesn't seem tired, and if he were more tired, I wouldn't do that as much. Well, that's a theory anyway.

Also, I'm getting pretty disenchanted with our current getting-Isaac-to-sleep technique/method, which stemmed out of the difficulties we were having for a while there. Basically, after we do our whole routine (pajamas, brush teeth, turn out lights, sometimes nurse), I put him in the crib and I lie down on the floor next to it and sing songs, and after each one he says in his sleepy little voice "sing another one," and eventually I say "okay, this is the last one" and then I sing one more song and then we both lie there until he falls asleep. And then I get up and tiptoe out.

The trouble is, sometimes it takes quite a while for him to fall asleep. And if I try to leave before he's fully out, he cries. So I end up lying there for a long time, and one of two things happens: 1) I fall asleep myself, or 2) I just lie there totally bored out of my skull. #2 is suboptimal for obvious reasons, and #1 is bad because it feels like a waste of my prime me-time, and because the process of getting up and leaving Isaac's room and getting ready for bed wakes me all up again, so I usually have trouble getting back to sleep when I get into my own bed. Ugh! It sucks. But I'm not really sure what can be done about it. Last night I tried telling Isaac that I was only going to sing two songs. He didn't protest, but it sure didn't make him fall asleep any faster. And why should it, really?

Anyway, I really wish I could get him back to a place where I could put him down awake and leave the room and have him fall asleep on his own. But I don't think there's any way to force that (other than making him sit/lie there crying for ages, which I won't do) so I guess I'm stuck with this, at least until I come up with another idea.

I think I have more, but this is long enough already so I'll stop now.

Date: 2005-11-16 08:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aelf.livejournal.com
I hear you on the whole sleeping thing. Daddy tucks Zoe into bed and reads her (up to) three stories. She then typically reads him one. I then get into bed with her, daddy says night night and turns out the light & leaves the room. Zoe nurses to sleep. Lately, she's been stopping nursing occasionally a bit before she falls asleep and then either I have to stay there with her until she falls asleep, or she insists daddy comes back and stays with her until she falls asleep. We start bedtime routine between 7 & 7:30, and it often takes until 8:30 - 9 before she's asleep. I *wish* we could read the stories, nurse, and then leave -- even if she's still awake. But if we try to, she cries, or comes and gets us.

Bleah.

Date: 2005-11-16 08:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tiggrrl.livejournal.com
Wow, I was much further along before I got any stranger comments! Like you, I was pleased by them, because no one was rude (or tried to touch me) and it felt nice to know that I was now obviously pregnant.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:15 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios