Huh.

May. 10th, 2002 05:04 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Well, in the ongoing net-wide debate about this week's Buffy episode, [livejournal.com profile] savesthegirl has taken the initiative in one way. She's made up a bunch of LJ icons using screen captures from the episode, overlaid with anti-rape phrases, and offered them up for people to use. I think it's a really interesting idea. I'm still trying to figure out what I think of the episode as a whole. But since [livejournal.com profile] tiggrrl asked why I wasn't posting about it ;), I will say one thing about the ending.

I won't even go into how sad I am about Tara's death, because it would come out sounding trite, so I'll just say that I'm way sad about it, and move on.

The one thing that I thought was, like heart-breakingly ironic about the episode was that, after how many months of concocting complicated plans involving geeky technology, spells, demons, etc. ... after all that, Warren finally finds an actually *effective* way to cause Buffy some serious harm, and what is it? A simple, old-fashioned gun. I can't get over the irony of that.

I'm not ready to write about the Spike/Buffy stuff yet. Maybe over the weekend after I watch the episode again (which I'm not really looking forward to).

Date: 2002-05-10 02:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jrosehale.livejournal.com
That's really interesting about the icons. That wouldn't have been a path I would've chosen, but I admire her using the tools of this new community to make a point. That's damn cool.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:55 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios