mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I just got back from the ultrasound to measure the length of my cervix. It measured a nice long 6(?) centimeters. (Wait, can that be right?) Well, whatever, it measured a normal length. Which on the one hand is good, because it means everything is normal and I probably don't have Incompetent Cervix. OTOH, it also means that we still don't know why Isaac was premature or what Cosmo's risk of being premature might be. Not that I *wanted* to have incompetent cervix, but at least it would have been an answer. Oh well. I'm mostly pleased with the results and shall strive to take a positive attitude -- all is well with me and Cosmo, and his/her odds of being dangerously premature are no greater than any other baby's. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.

The appointment was a little annoying because, as the ultrasound tech explained, the hospital's policy is that you have to talk to a doctor after having the u/s. Never mind the fact that I don't USE a doctor, but a midwife. I still had to wait around for the doctor, who wasn't actually in yet. Finally he deigned to grace us with his presence, and then he decided that the pictures the ultrasound tech had taken weren't good enough, so I had to undress all over again and have the dildocam* reinserted. Grump. Oh well, it wasn't that bad.

Then the doctor tried to talk me into changing my dates, on account of Cosmo measures a bit big for our dates. S/he is about five days "ahead," which personally I'm not at all worried about at this stage, but the doctor seemed to feel that it meant I should calculate my due-date based on my LMP rather than ovulation. He had an explanation for this, which was insane troll logic and made NO sense to me whatsoever. But since he isn't my doctor and I won't, one hopes, ever have to deal with him again, I just took the "smile and nod" route and ignored him.

Anyway, the bottom line is that Cosmo is fine and I'm fine, we're all fine now here. How are you? (No points for identifying that reference; it's too easy.)

When I woke up this morning, I wasn't nauseated at all. Of course my first thought was not "Yay, at last the morning sickness has relented!" No, rather it was "uh-oh, this must mean I'm about to miscarry." *roll eyes* Will I never give myself a break? LOL.

* technically called transvaginal ultrasound, but "dildocam" is so much more descriptive and evocative.

Date: 2005-09-30 05:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tiffanygrrl.livejournal.com
You inspired me - and yesterday when asked when my LMP was to calculate the due date I said "I o late and so prefer to go by that" and she had NO ISSUES, but... told me to LIE to the receptionist when I call for the intake visit 8-) ah well... but I was so glad to have read that discussion earlier... (she did tell me, "we won't change it for you at the end if you want it out early!" and I laughed!)

Date: 2005-09-30 07:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
heh cool, good for you! Glad I could be an inspiration :)

Date: 2005-09-30 05:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cynthia1960.livejournal.com
Well, I was seriously early (mid August instead of mid to late November) and my brother who's a year younger than me was on time. Just another data point for your study.

Date: 2005-09-30 05:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] booklady.livejournal.com
I'm glad you're all fine there. 'twas not at all a boring conversation anyway...

And I agree - "dildocam" is the perfect term for it!

Date: 2005-09-30 07:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] psu-jedi.livejournal.com
As I have been absent from LJ for about a month, glad to hear that things are okay (not that I knew there were questions/concerns, but you get my drift ;-).

I don't mind the dildocam actually--it's much more comfortable than having the regular thingy pressing on your tummy, and your way-over-full bladder. But maybe that's just me. :-)

And yes...the quote IS way too easy, but I'm gonna say "it's Han!" anyway, just in case there's anyone on your f-list who still hasn't seen that movie!

And due dates? At my u/s for the amnio, it read 17 weeks, when I thought I was 16 weeks and 4 days, so I asked my OB, who said that she's not changing my due date, which is more like a "due week," and a few days isn't that big of a deal. So yeah...insane troll logic that the doc wanted to change your date because of 5 days.

Date: 2005-09-30 07:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
I don't really mind the dildocam either; at least I had it done with Isaac so I knew what to expect. And it actually seemed like they've improved the technology since last time, because the wand seemed smaller and sleeker.

I've had two on-top-of-tummy ultrasounds now, and they've not yet told me to have a full bladder! In fact they told me to pee first. I'm not sure what that's about.

Date: 2005-09-30 07:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hopemcg.livejournal.com
I'm glad that maybe you are possibly feeling better.

My doc has a different due date written down than what I'm saying. It's only one day off, but it still sort of grates on me. Not that the due date had ANYTHING to do with the birthdate anyway...

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:38 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios